Afghanistan and Ireland are set to collide again in India for the five-match ODI series. After thrashing the Irish team in T20I series by 3-0, Afghanistan must be beaming with confidence heading into this ODI series. Ireland had a rough start in the previous series and couldn’t make the most out of their opportunities in the contest. Both the teams would be eager to perform well in the ODI series ahead of the ICC World Cup.

Afghanistan is playing some phenomenal cricket in recent time with a pool of talented players. They outplayed the visitors in all the three departments in the T20I series. Afghanistan’s bowling has been their strength over these years, but in this series, their batting came into the limelight. The hosts whitewashed the Irish team by 3-0 to seal the T20I series in a remarkable fashion. Having lost the T20I series, Afghanistan would be eyeing to perform with such dominance to prepare themselves for the upcoming ICC World Cup.

Ireland, on the other hand, has had a terrible tour so far in India. After losing all the three T20I matches, they would be hoping to bounce back heading into the ODI series. The visitors will be eager to avenge their humiliating defeat in the T20I series. Ireland needs to improve their bowling attack if they want to land a counter punch in the ODI format.  With the ICC World Cup just around the corner, Ireland needs to make some adjustments in their lineup to prepare for the mega event.




Date: Thursday, February 28, 2019

Time: 01:00 PM IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun

League: Ireland tour of India

Live Telecast: DSPORT

Online Streaming: Rabbitholebd Sports YouTube Channel to live stream BPL matches in India



Afghanistan – 3, Ireland – 2, Drawn – 0


Recent Form

Afghanistan- W, W, W, W, W

Ireland- L, L, L, W, L



Afghanistan – Asghar Afghan (C), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hazratullah Zazai, Samiullah Shenwari, Ikram Ali Khil, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Aftab Alam, Dawlat Zadran, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan, Farid Malik, Shapoor Zadran, Sayed Shirzad

Ireland – Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, James McCollum, Tim Murtagh, Andy McBrine, Kevin O Brien, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Barry McCarthy, Simi Singh, James Cameron-Dow, William Porterfield(C), Lorcan Tucker





  • William Porterfield (c)
  • Kevin O Brien
  • Paul Stirling


  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Rashid Khan


Probable Playing XI


Afghanistan – Zazai, Shahzad(WK), Rahmat, Shahidi, Ashgar(C), Naib, Nabi, Najibullah, Rashid, Mujeeb and Aftab

Ireland – Porterfield(C), Stirling, Balbirnie, Poynter(WK), McCollum/Tucker, Simi, Kevin, Dockrell, Murtagh, McCarthy, and Rankin




Stay Connected!