India is set to host Afghanistan and Ireland for their first full-fledged tour which will be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun, Uttarakhand. The opening game of this tour will see both the sides locking horns in the T-20 format. Afghanistan has adapted to the subcontinent conditions while Ireland would be hoping to outplay their opponents.

The Afghans will be facing the Irish side for the fourteenth time in the T20I match. Having lost seven consecutive games, Ireland has struggled against Afghanistan in the recent past. Their last win over Afghanistan came way back in 2013 at Abu Dhabi. Ireland would be hoping to break the jinx when they take on the Asian side. They need to emerge victorious in the opening match to make the series interesting.

Afghanistan, on the contrary, have played some fabulous cricket in the past few years. The Afghans have been flying high with confidence as they have made their place in the international arena. Their youngsters are talented who have represented various franchises in the domestic T-20 leagues. Afghanistan would be eyeing to maintain their dream run against the Irish side in this series.


Head To Head:

Played: 13

No Result: 01

Ireland won: 03

Afghanistan won: 09


Match Details


When – February 21, 06:30 PM IST

Where – Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Dehradun, Uttrakhand



  • Mohammad Shahzad has been left-out of the T20I squad and S Shafiq will replace him behind the wickets.
  • Paul Stirling will lead the side Irish skipper Gary Wilson is still recovering from his vision problem which means opening batsman.



Ireland Squad:

  • Paul Stirling (c)
  • Boyd Rankin
  • James Shannon
  • Simi Singh
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • Peter Chase
  • Josh Little
  • Andrew McBrine
  • Kevin O’Brien
  • Stuart Poynter
  • Harry Tector
  • Stuart Thompson
  • Lorcan Tucker
  • George Dockrell
  • Shane Getkate

Afghanistan Squad:

  • Asghar Afghan(c)
  • Usman Ghani
  • Sayed Shirzad
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Karim Janat
  • Farid Malik
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Najeeb Tarakai
  • Zahir Khan
  • Sharafuddin Ashraf
  • Ziaur Rahman
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Samiullah Shenwari
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Shafiqullah Shafiq
  • Rashid Khan


Probable Playing 11



Stuart Poynter, Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie, James Shannon, Stuart Thompson, Kevin O’Brien, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, A McBrine, George Dockrell, Peter Chase. (Doubt: Boyd Rankin, Joshua Little)


S Shafiq, Najibullah Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, S Shenwari, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, S Ashraf/F Malik.



Shafiqullah Shafiq

Stuart Thompson

Paul Stirling         C

Hazratullah Zazai

Andrew Balbirnie

Mohammad Nabi

Kevin O Brien

George Dockrell

Peter Chase

Rashid Khan

Mujeeb Ur Rahman        VC