Afghanistan and Ireland are set to collide with each other in the second ODI at Rajiv Gandhi stadium, Dehradun. The first ODI was played at the same venue where Afghanistan emerged victorious by five wickets. Ireland is still struggling to find any form in this tour while the Afghans have made the most of this opportunity. This five-match ODI series will serve as a useful purpose for both the teams who are preparing for the upcoming ICC World Cup.

Afghanistan is flying high in this Indian tour on the back of some exceptional performance by the team. After thrashing the Irish side 3-0 in the T20 series, Afghanistan would be eyeing to seal the ODI series. They started the ODI series with an emphatic fashion by beating the European side by five wickets. Their bowling attack destroyed Ireland’s batting lineup in the first innings to restrict them to 161 runs. Mohammad Shahzad (43) and Gulbadin Naib (46) batted smartly to take their side over the line in the first ODI.

On the contrary, Ireland is having a horrible time in India as they are still searching for their first victory in this tour. They have an uphill task in the second ODI against an in-form opponent. The Irish side would be hoping to bounce back in the remaining games to at least give their opponents a challenging fight. Their seasoned campaigners need to step up in this upcoming match to hand them their first victory of this tour. Ireland has to look for answers within themselves and make some changes in their starting lineup before its too late.




Date: Saturday, March 2, 2019

Time: 01:00 PM IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun

League: Ireland tour of India

Live Telecast: DSPORT

Online Streaming: Rabbitholebd Sports YouTube Channel to live stream BPL matches in India


Head-to-head (last five ODIs)


Afghanistan – 4, Ireland – 1

Recent Form

Afghanistan – W T L L W

Ireland – L L W L L


Team News



Md. Nabi will play in the upcoming as he has recovered from his injury.


Ireland can make one or two changes ahead of the second ODI.




William Porterfield (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, James Cameron-Dow, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, James McCollum, Kevin O Brien, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Lorcan Tucker


Asghar Afghan (c), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Ali Khil, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Aftab Alam, Dawlat Zadran, Zahir Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Shapoor Zadran, Sayed Shirzad, Fareed Malik




  • William Porterfield (c)
  • Kevin O Brien
  • Paul Stirling


  • Mohammad Shahzad(w)
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Rashid Khan


Probable Playing XI


William Porterfield(c), Andrew Balbirnie, Simi Singh, James McCollum, George Dockrell, Stuart Poynter(w), Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Tim Murtagh, Boyd Rankin, Barry McCarthy


Mohammad Shahzad(w), Hazratullah Zazai, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan(c), Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dawlat Zadran