Team India is set to host Australia for the first ODI in at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. After defeating the hosts in the T20I series, the Kangaroos scripted a significant turnaround in this tour. India would be eyeing to bounce back in style heading into the ODI series. The opening game of the five-match series will begin tomorrow by 1:30 PM, followed by four matches on 5th, 8th, 10th & 13th March respectively.

Indian Team must be desperate to get back to winning ways in the upcoming crucial ODI series. Having lost the T20 series, the hosts would be eyeing to land a counterpunch when they face the Kangaroos. The Blue Brigade are still the favourites heading into the ODI series as they are playing in home conditions. Virat Kohli would be looking to create a balanced lineup for the first ODI and go ahead with six batsmen along with five bowlers. The golden arm of Kedhar Jadhav gives the home team another spinning option in the middle overs. After being humiliated in the T20 series, Team India needs to emerge victorious in this ODI series ahead of the ICC World Cup.

Australia, on the other hand, had the perfect start to this short tour. They defeated the Indian team in the T20 series on their home turf, much to their delight. The Aussies have the momentum with them heading into the ODI series and would be eyeing to avenge their home series defeat earlier this year. Aaron Finch has a well-balanced squad in the ODIs, which can surely do a fair amount of damage in the subcontinent conditions.



Date: Saturday, 02 March 2019

Time: 01:30 PM IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

League: Australia tour of India 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar (Website, App)


Head-to-head (last five ODIs)

India – 3, Australia – 2

Team News



Kane Richardson has been ruled out of the ODI series due to an injury.

Andrew Tye has been called in as his replacement.


Ambati Rayudu or KL Rahul will fight for their spot in the starting lineup.

Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja will return to the Indian setup along with Kuldeep Yadav.

Md. Shami will spearhead the bowling attack along with Jasprit Bumrah.




India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Siddarth Kaul, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, D Arcy Short, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye


Key Players



  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah


  • Aaron Finch
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Pat Cummins




Probable Playing 11

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu/KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Australia: Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, D Arcy Short, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa