After being thrashed in the opening T20I, Team India is set to host Australia for the second Twenty 20 International at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. India started the series as firm favourites, but the Kangaroos had other plans. The opening match of the series went down to the wire as both the teams were battling hard to get a win. The Australian team emerged victorious in that last-ball thriller by three wickets to take a 1-0 lead in the two-match series.

India once again showed that they are a top-heavy batting side. Whenever the top-3 fails to fire with the bat, then the Indian batting lineup struggles to score runs against their opponents. Apart from KL Rahul and Virat Kohli no other batsmen looked in excellent touch. The middle-order vows continue for the home side which they need to address in the second match. Bumrah tried his best to bring the hosts back into the game, but Umesh Yadav leaked 14 runs in the final over to hand the visitors their first victory of this tour. The Indian team would be eyeing to bounce back in this must-win contest.

On the contrary, Australia had a dream start to this series and would be hoping to carry on the winning momentum. The visitors simply outplayed the Indian team in all the three departments to register a 3-wicket win in the first T20I. Their bowlers did a tremendous job to restrict such an explosive batting lineup for just 126 runs on the board. The Kangaroos looks motivated to avenge their humiliating loss in the series Down Under. Having won the opening game, the Aussies would be hoping to seal the T20I series by 2-0 in the upcoming match.



Date: Wednesday, 27 February 2019

Time: 07:00 PM IST

Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

League: Australia tour of India 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar (Website, App)



Head-to-head (last five T20Is)


India – 1

Australia – 2

No Result – 2





INDIA- L, W, L, W, L


Team News



Virat Kohli may look to bring back Shikhar Dhawan, who was rested for 1st T20I.

Siddharth Kaul can feature in the second ODI to replace Umesh Yadav.

While Vijay Shankar can be brought into the side to strengthen their batting lineup.



The Visitors are expected to go with the same playing Xi after winning the first match.



India T20 squad

Virat (c), Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rohit Sharma (vc), Yuzvendra Chahal, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Sidharth Kaul and Mayank Markande.

Australia T20 squad

Aaron Finch(c), Ashton Turner, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, D Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey, Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Jhye Richardson, Adam Zampa


Key Players



  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah



  • Aaron Finch
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Pat Cummins


Probable Playing 11



Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant/Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav/Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande,



Aaron Finch (c), D Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb (wk), Ashton Turner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson/Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa