New Zealand are set to host the Bangladeshi Tigers for the second ODI at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch. The Blackcaps emerged victorious in the first ODI by eight wickets to take a lead of 1-0 in the three-match series. The hosts would be eyeing to capitalize on their previous performance and seal the series in the upcoming match. The Kiwis need to win this series desperately after being hammered 4-1 by the Indian Team in their backyard.

Bangladesh were outplayed in all the three departments by the home side. Having won the toss, the visitors elected to bat first on a flat track, but Trent Boult and Mitchell Santner had other plans. The duo took six wickets to restrict the Bangladeshi Tigers for 232 runs. The Blackcaps started the chase with a flying fashion. Martin Guptill was declared the ‘Man of the Match’ for his unbeaten knock of 117 runs.

Bangladesh would be hoping to bounce back in style after their defeat in the first ODI. The visitors have a lot of boxes to tick in this series, and the absence of Shakib Al Hasan has made it even worse. The second ODI at Christchurch will be a do-or-die situation for them. The visitors need to step-up in this must-win match if they want to level the series.




Date: Saturday, 16 February 2019

Time: 03:30 AM IST

Venue:  Hagley Oval, Christchurch

League: Bangladesh tour of New Zealand

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar (Website, App)



Recent Form


Bangladesh – L W W W L

New Zealand – W L L L W

Head-to-head (last five ODIs)


New Zealand – 4, Bangladesh – 1






Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan, Shafiul Islam

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson(c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor






  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Mahmudullah


New Zealand

  • Martin Guptill
  • Kane Williamson(c)
  • Trent Boult


Probable Playing XI



Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult