Adelaide Strikers are set to host Brisbane Heat at the Adelaide Oval for another exciting contest in the Big Bash League. Both the teams are desperate to win this game as we are heading into the business end of the tournament. This is the second instance that both these sides will face each other in the tournament. Adelaide Strikers and Brisbane Heat faced off in the opening match of the Big Bash Premier League at the Gabba. The Strikers emerged victorious in that previous encounter by 5 wickets.

The defending champions, Adelaide Strikers, have not had a decent campaign. They are still struggling to book their berth in the playoffs due to poor performances in the past. The home side defeated the table toppers, Hobart Hurricanes in their previous encounter when the stakes were high. Adelaide Strikers have to win the remaining two games to stand any chance of qualifying for the next round. They are currently lying in the sixth spot of the points table with 10 points to their name. With 5 wins and 6 defeats in their 11 outings, the Strikers have to win this game to stay alive in the tournament.

While Brisbane Heat are placed right below Adelaide Strikers with 9 points in 12 league games. The Heat have also struggled to find any kind of form this season under the captaincy of Chris Lynn. They have won four games and lost seven games so far in this season. Brisbane Heat would be hoping to carry the winning momentum after defeating Perth Scorcher by 6 wickets in their previous encounter. The visitors have to step-up in this crunch contest to keep their hope alive for the playoffs.




Team News


Brisbane Heat

  • Mujeeb-ur-Rahman will not feature in this match and he will be replaced by Mitchell Swepson.
  • Mark Steketee has been recalled into the squad to replace Brendan Doggett.



Adelaide Strikers

    • Billy Stanlake is ruled out to make way for Peter Siddle.




Adelaide Strikers

Colin Ingram (c), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Rashid Khan, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Peter Siddle, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells.

Brisbane Heat

Chris Lynn (c), Max Bryant, Ben Cutting, Sam Heazlett, Matt Kuhnemann, Josh Lalor, Jimmy Pierson, Brendon McCullum, Matt Renshaw, Jack Prestwidge, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Alex Ross.


Key Players



Probable Playing XI


Adelaide Strikers

  1. Alex Carey
  2. Jake Weatherald
  3. Jake Lehmann
  4. Colin Ingram (c)
  5. Jonathan Wells
  6. Cameron Valente
  7. Michael Neser
  8. Rashid Khan
  9. Ben Laughlin
  10. Wes Agar
  11. Peter Siddle


Brisbane Heat

  1. Jimmy Peirson
  2. Chris Lynn
  3. Brendon McCullum
  4. Max Bryant
  5. Matt Renshaw
  6. Alex Ross
  7. Ben Cutting
  8. Jack Prestwidge
  9. Mitchell Swepson
  10. Josh Lalor
  11. Matthew Kuhnemann (Doubt: M Steketee)