Brisbane Heat is set to host Sydney Thunders for another epic encounter of the Big Bash League at the Gabba. Both the teams will take on each other for the second time in this season. Brisbane Heat won that game by 15 runs using D/L method. Chris Lynn(54 off 30) and Brendon McCullum(56 off 35) gave the Heat a par score of 186/8 to defend. The second innings was constantly troubled by rains due to which the Sydney team could only score 34/2 at the end of 5.3 overs.

Both these teams will try to dominate the opponents in the initial stages of the game. They desperately need to win the rest of the games in order to qualify for the next round. The race to top-4 is really on with all the teams left with a handful of games.

Sydney Thunder are currently sitting comfortably at the second position with 8 points after winning four games out of their eight games played. Brisbane Heat, on the contrary, are languishing at the sixth spot and have a mountain to climb. Most importantly they have failed to gain any momentum in this tournament.




Date: Thursday, January 17, 2019

Time:  01:45 PM IST

Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane

League: Big Bash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:


Team News



Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw will not feature in this match as they will participate in a practice game against the visiting Sri Lankan side.

Sam Heazlett and pacer Mark Steketee have made a comeback to the Heat squad.


Ryan Gibson will feature for the first time this season, Jay Lenton is set to make a comeback

Jason Sangha has left the squad as he will feature in the practice match against Sri Lanka.




Brisbane Heat

Chris Lynn (c), Sam Heazlett, Brendon Doggett, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Josh Lalor, Jack Prestwidge, Brendon McCullum, Ben Cutting, Mark Steketee, Max Bryant, Mitchell Swepson, Jimmy Pierson.

Sydney Thunder

Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Jono Cook, Anton Devcich, Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Chris Jordan, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu


Probable Playing 11


Brisbane Heat

  1. Jimmy Peirson
  2. Chris Lynn(c)
  3. Brendon McCullum
  4. Sam Heazlett
  5. Max Bryant
  6. Alex Ross
  7. Ben Cutting
  8. Mujeeb
  9. Mitchell Swepson
  10. Brendan Doggett
  11. Josh Lalor (Doubt: Mark Steketee)


Sydney Thunder

  1. Jay Lenton
  2. Shane Watson(c)
  3. Callum Ferguson
  4. Ryan Gibson
  5. Anton Devcich
  6. Arjun Nair
  7. Daniel Sams
  8. Chris Green
  9. Fawad Ahmed
  10. Gurinder Sandhu
  11. Chris Jordan



Jimmy Peirson

Shane Watson

Brendon McCullum (VC)

Chris Lynn (C)

Max Bryant

Anton Devcich

Ben Cutting

Fawad Ahmed

Chris Green

Brendan Doggett

Mujeeb Zadran


Risky 11       

Jay Lenton

Shane Watson   (C)

Chris Lynn

Brendon McCullum

Max Bryant

Daniel Sams        (VC)

Arjun Nair

Callum Ferguson

J Lalor

Chris Jordan

Mitchell Swepson