Hobart Hurricanes are set to lock horns with the reigning champions, Adelaide Strikers in another Big Bash thriller. Adelaide Strikers are reeling in this campaign and need to win this game to stay alive in the tournament. Both the sides will face each other for the second time in this season. Hobart Hurricanes thrashed the Strikers in that previous encounter at Adelaide. They registered a massive 10-wicket victory over the defending champions. Hurricanes chased down the total of 154 runs in just 16.5 overs with 10 wickets in hand. Adelaide Strikers must be eager to avenge their home defeat in the upcoming match.

Hobart Hurricanes are comfortably at the top of the chart with 18 points. They have won 9 games and lost only a couple of games in 11 outings so far in this season. Hurricanes have an aggressive batting lineup which has won them most of the matches. Brisbane Heat were on the receiving end in their last match, when they were defeated by 9 wickets after posting 145 runs on the board.

On the other hand, Adelaide Strikers have had a disappointing campaign as they find themselves at sixth position in the points table. They could only manage 8 points in 11 games that they have played this season. Strikers started the tournament on a promising note but failed to keep the momentum going in the second half of the season. With only 4 wins and 7 losses to their name, Adelaide Strikers have to step-up in this crunch contest.




Date: Thursday, January 31, 2019

Time:  2:00 PM IST

Venue: Aurora Stadium, Launceston

League: Big Bash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:



Team News


Adelaide Strikers

  • Strikers have named a 13-man squad.
  •  Harry Nielsen and Wes Agar return to the squad.

Hobart Hurricanes

  •  Hurricanes have made one change in their 13-man squad.
  • Riley Meredith will miss this match due to Illness.
  • Tom Rogers is set to replace him



Adelaide Strikers-

Colin Ingram (c), Cameron Valente, Jon Wells, Liam O’Connor, Rashid Khan, Billy Stanlake, Wes Agar, Michael Neser, Jake Weatherald, Ben Laughlin, Alex Carey, Jake Lehmann, Harry Nielsen.



Hobart Hurricanes-

Matthew Wade (c), Jofra Archer, Alex Doolan, James Faulkner, George Bailey, D’Arcy Short, Clive Ross, Tom Rogers, Simon Milenko, David Moody, Caleb Jewell, Jarrod Freeman, Ben McDermott.


Key Players



Adelaide Strikers

  • Colin Ingram (c)
  • Jake Lehmann
  • Rashid Khan


Hobart Hurricanes

  • Matthew Wade (c)
  • D Arcy Short
  • Jofra Archer



Probable Playing XI


Adelaide Strikers

  1. Alex Carey
  2. Colin Ingram (c)
  3. Jake Lehmann
  4. Jake Weatherald
  5. Jonathan Wells
  6. Matthew Short
  7. Michael Neser
  8. Billy Stanlake
  9. Ben Laughlin
  10. Rashid Khan
  11. Wes Agar


Hobart Hurricanes

  1. Matthew Wade (c)
  2. D Arcy Short
  3. Ben McDermott
  4. George Bailey
  5. Caleb Paul Jewell
  6. James Faulkner
  7. Simon Milenko
  8. Clive Rose
  9. David Moody
  10. Jofra Archer
  11. Jarrod Freeman