Melbourne Stars are ready to host Hobart Hurricanes at the Melbourne Cricket Ground for an intriguing contest in another Big Bash clash. Hobart Hurricanes has been in excellent form this season. Their victory caravan came to halt against Melbourne Renegades after five wins on the trot. Hobart Hurricanes will look to get back to winning ways when they go up against the Melbourne Stars.

After beating the Brisbane Heat by 15 runs in their opening encounter, the Hobart Hurricanes went on to win four consecutive games against Melbourne Stars, Sydney Thunder, Perth Scorchers, and Sydney Sixers. Both the teams will face off for the second time in this tournament, Hobart Hurricanes came out victorious in that contest by six wickets.

Hobart Hurricanes are currently on top of the ladder with 10 points and on the other hand, Melbourne Stars are languishing at the second last position in the points table. The host could only manage six points so far in the tournament after winning three matches. Melbourne Stars who have lost their last two games against Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers will look to win this match to remain in this contest.




Date: Monday, January 14, 2019

Time:  01:45 PM IST

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

League: Big Bash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:


Recent Form 


Hobart Hurricanes – L, W, W, W, W

Melbourne Stars – L, L, W, W, W



Melbourne Stars

Nic Maddinson (C), Tom O’Connell, Ben Dunk, Jackson Bird, Scott Boland, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Merlo, Liam Bowe, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Nick Larkin, Lance Morris, Liam Plunkett

Hobart Hurricanes

Matthew Wade (C), Alex Doolan, Jofra Archer, David Moody, George Bailey, Ben McDermott, Johan Botha, Jake Doran, James Faulkner, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short


Probable Playing 11


Melbourne Stars

  1. Seb Gotch
  2. Nic Maddinson (c)
  3. Nick Larkin
  4. Ben Dunk
  5. Dwayne Bravo
  6. Jonathan Merlo
  7. Evan Gulbis
  8. Jackson Bird
  9. Scott Boland
  10. Liam Bowe
  11. Liam Plunkett


Hobart Hurricanes

  1. Matthew Wade (c)
  2. George Bailey
  3. Ben McDermott
  4. D Arcy Short
  5. Alex Doolan
  6. James Faulkner
  7. Johan Botha
  8. Simon Milenko
  9. Jofra Archer
  10. Clive Rose
  11. Riley Meredith