Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder
Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder



Perth Scorchers are set to host the Sydney Thunder in a must-win match for them on Thursday. Both the sides would be hoping to win this contest at Perth Stadium. Scorchers and Thunder have their campaign on the line heading into this game as the two sides have lost three matches in their last five games.

The home side is languishing at the bottom of the table with six points. They have won three games and lost six in the league so far. Scorchers lost their last game against Hobart Hurricanes by four wickets. They need to step up in this must-win contest to stay in the tournament.

Sydney Thunder are currently at fifth position in the points table with ten points. They have won four and lost five matches so far in this campaign. Thunder lost their last game against the Renegades by twelve runs.






Date: Thursday, January 24, 2019

Time:  4:10 PM IST

Venue: Perth Stadium

League: Big Bash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:






Sydney Thunder

  • They have announced 13 man squad
  • Jay Lenton will not feature in this match due to his finger injury.
  • Matt Gilkes and Baxter Holt both named in the 13-player squad.
  • Kurtis Patterson has been selected in Australia’s Test squad and Holt will replace him.
  • Nathan McAndrew has also been named in the squad
  •  Arjun Nair and Jono Cook will miss out.



  • They have named a 13-player squad for this match with four changes.
  • Shaun Marsh, Mitch Marsh and Jason Behrendorff return to the squad.
  • Sam Whiteman, Will Bosisto, Aaron Hardie, David Willey released from the squad.
  • Jhye Richardson has joined the Australian side for the Test Series against Sri Lanka
  •  Liam Guthrie will replace Richardson.



Sydney Thunder

  • Shane Watson (c)
  • Anton Devcich
  • Callum Ferguson


Perth Scorchers

  • Michael Klinger
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Ashton Turner(c)




Sydney Thunder:

Shane Watson (C), Anton Devcich, Fawad Ahmed, Callum Ferguson, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Chris Jordan, Nathan McAndrew, Sam Rainbird, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha

Perth Scorchers: 

Mitch Marsh(C), Ashton Turner (VC), Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Guthrie, Nick Hobson, Matt Kelly, Michael Klinger, Shaun Marsh, Usman Qadir, Andrew Tye.

Probable PLaying 11


Sydney Thunder

  1. Anton Devcich
  2. Shane Watson (c)
  3. Callum Ferguson
  4. J Sangha
  5. Daniel Sams
  6. Matt Gilkes (wk)
  7. Chris Green
  8. Chris Jordan
  9. Gurinder Sandhu
  10. Sam Rainbird/N McAndrew
  11. Fawad Ahmed


Perth Scorchers 

  1. Cameron Bancroft
  2. Michael Klinger
  3. Shaun Marsh
  4. Ashton Turner(c)
  5. Hilton Cartwright
  6. Mitch Marsh
  7. Nathan Coulter-Nile
  8. Andrew Tye
  9. Matthew Kelly
  10. Jason Behrendorff
  11. Usman Qadir