It’s time for the Sydney derby where we will witness two giants take on each other for another thrilling contest. Both the teams will collide at the Sydney Cricket ground for the second time in this season. Sydney Thunder emerged victorious in that previous encounter by 21 runs. Jos Butler scored 63 crucial runs to post a competitive total on the board which Sixers failed to chase down.

Sydney Sixers are currently at the third spot in the points table with 14 points in the league so far. They have won 7 games while lost 5 in their 12 outings. The Sixers thrashed Adelaide Strikers in their last match by 8 wickets for another comprehensive victory.

While Thunder are struggling this season despite some amazing performance throughout the campaign. They have failed to perform as a unit, which is why Watson & co find themselves under the pump heading into the derby. With only a couple of games to go, they would be hoping to finish in the top four. Thunder are at the fifth position in the table with 11 league points. They have won 5 while tasted 6 defeats along the way.


Ground Stats T20

Total Matches 6
Matches won batting first 2
Matches won bowling first 4
Average 1st Inns scores 164
Average 2nd Inns scores 149
Highest total recorded 221/5 (20 Ov) by AUS vs Eng
Highest score chased 200/3 (20 Ov) by IND vs AUS
Lowest score defended 150/7 (20 Ov) by AUS vs NZ



  • Both the teams will go with an unchanged lineup.




Sydney Sixers: 

Sean Abbott, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques, Dan Hughes, Ben Manenti, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, James Vince.

Sydney Thunder:

Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Jono Cook, Anton Devcich, Callum Ferguson, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Chris Jordan, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha






Sydney Sixers

  • Josh Philippe(w)
  • Daniel Hughes
  • Moises Henriques(c)

Sydney Thunder

  • Shane Watson (c)
  • Callum Ferguson
  • Daniel Sams


Probable Playing XI



Sydney Sixers

  1. Josh Philippe(w)
  2. Daniel Hughes
  3. James Vince
  4. Moises Henriques(c)
  5. Jordan Silk
  6. Jack Edwards
  7. Tom Curran
  8. Sean Abbott
  9. Steve OKeefe
  10. Ben Dwarshuis
  11. Ben Manenti


Sydney Thunder

  1. Shane Watson(c)
  2. Anton Devcich
  3. Callum Ferguson
  4. Jason Sangha
  5. Daniel Sams
  6. Chris Green
  7. Baxter J Holt(w)
  8. Chris Jordan
  9. Jonathan Cook
  10. Gurinder Sandhu
  11. Fawad Ahmed