Dhaka Dynamites secured their berth for the next qualifier after knocking out the Chittagong Vikings out of the BPL 2019. Sunil Narine’s all-round performance took the Dynamites one step closer to the final of this season. The Trinidadian bowled a terrific spell in the first innings and ended up with the figures of 4-15. He then opened the innings for Dhaka and scored a quickfire 31(16) to give them a flying start in a low scoring affair. Dhaka Dynamites emerged victorious by six wickets over the Vikings while chasing 135 runs.

Now Dhaka Dynamites are set to host the reigning champions, Rangpur Riders for the second Qualifier at the iconic Shere Bangla National Stadium. The winner of this tie will join Comilla Victorians for the final contest on Friday at the same venue. We will witness a recap of last year’s final match when both these sides collided against each other, and Rangpur Riders emerged victorious to life their first title.

Rangpur Riders were on a seven-match winning streak before Comilla Victorians thrashed them in the first qualifier. The defending champions must be eyeing to bounce back after that defeat against the Victorians. Their bowlers were torn apart by Evin Lewis (71*) & Co to help the Victorians book their berth in the finals. Comilla Victorians chased down the target of 166 runs with eight wickets in hand and seven balls to spare. Rangpur Riders must be hoping for a better outing with the ball as they have one more opportunity against Dhaka Dynamites.

Both the sides will take on each other for the third time in this season. Dhaka Dynamites won the first encounter while defending 183 and won a close contest by just two runs. In their second meeting, Rangpur Riders thrashed the Dynamites by 8 wickets to make it 1-1. The upcoming match will decide which team will have the last laugh as the winner will reach the final, and the loser will go home. The Riders have the edge over their opponents as they have been the most in-form team throughout this season. However, the Dynamites would be eyeing to make it into two consecutive finals and avenge their last year final’s defeat.


Recent Form


Dhaka Dynamites- W, W, L, L, L

Rangpur Riders- L, W, W, W, W


Team News


  • AB de Villiers and Alex Hales will not feature for the Riders
  • H Zazai will be unavailable for Dynamites





Dhaka Dynamites- Shakib Al Hasan (c), Hazratullah Zazai, Asif Hasan, Rovman Powell, Qazi Onik, Mohammad Naim, Rony Talukdar, Shahadat Hossain, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Nurul Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Andrew Birch, Ian Bell, Mizanur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Sunil Narine, Mohor Sheikh

Rangpur Riders – Chris Gayle, Sean Williams, Nadif Chowdhury, Benny Howell, Abul Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Nahidul Islam, Mohammad Mithun (wk), Farhad Reza, Shafiul Islam,  AB de Villiers, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Alex Hales, Sohag Gazi,  Mehedi Maruf, Ravi Bopara, Sheldon Cottrell, Rilee Rossouw, Fardeen Hasan




Probable Playing XI



Dhaka Dynamite

  1. Rony Talukdar
  2. Upul Tharanga
  3. Nurul Hasan
  4. Kieron Pollard
  5. Shakib Al Hasan (c)
  6. Sunil Narine
  7. Andre Russell
  8. Rubel Hossain
  9. Shuvagata Hom
  10. Mahmudul Hasan
  11. Qazi Onik


Rangpur Riders

  1. Mohammad Mithun
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Mehedi Maruf
  4. Rilee Rossouw
  5. Farhad Reza
  6. Benny Howell
  7. Ravi Bopara
  8. Mashrafe Mortaza (c)
  9. Shafiul Islam
  10. Nahidul Islam
  11. Sohag Gazi




Narul Hasan

Upul Tharanga

Rony Talukdar

Rilee Rossouw

Benny Howell

Shakib Al Hasan   C

Sunil Narine        VC

Rubel Hossain

Shuvagata Hom

Mashrafe Mortaza

Shafiul Islam



Mohammad Mithun

Chris Gayle         C

Mehedi Maruf

Upul Tharanga

Benny Howell

Nahidul Islam

Andre Russell    VC

Shuvagata Hom

Mashrafe Mortaza

Farhad Reza

Qazi Onik