West Indies are set to host the English side for the three-match T20I series. The first T20I is scheduled o take place tomorrow at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia. Then the remaining two matches will be played on 8th and 10th March respectively. Both the teams will lock horns in the shortest format of the game, after playing Test and ODI series. Windies emerged victorious in the Test series, while the ODI series ended in a dramatic fashion with a 2-2 scoreline.

West Indies has played some remarkable cricket so far in this home fixture. Having won the test series by 2-1, they looked in sensational form heading into the ODI series. They faced an uphill task in the ODI series against the World No.1 ODI team. On the verge of losing the series, they fought their way back in the final ODI to level the series by 2-2 in the most scintillating manner. The hosts have to back their bowlers if they want to perform well in the upcoming T20I series. Chris Gayle, Shimron Htmyer and Shai Hope will lead the explosive batting lineup against mighty England.

England, on the other side, is having a forgettable tour this time around in the Carribean. The visitors struggled with their batting in the test series and ended up losing the series by 2-1. They bounced back in the ODI series but lost their way again in the final ODI to satisfy themselves with a 2-2 draw. After a string of ordinary performances, England would be hoping to land a counter punch and seal this T20I series. Morgan & Co will have to play aggressive cricket in the reaming games if they want to end this terrible tour on a winning note.




Date: Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Time:  01:30 PM IST

Venue: Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia

League: England tour of West Indies

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming: Sonyliv.com



Team News



  • Jason Roy, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali and Ben Stokes have been rested for this series.
  • Joe Burns, David Malan, David Willey, and Sam Billings are set to replace them in the squad.
  • Joe Root still remains doubtful for the first game.

West Indies

  •  Andre Russell has been ruled out of the series due to his knee injury.
  • Jason Holder will lead the home side in the T20I series.





Eoin Morgan(c), Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Mark Wood, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Sam Curran, David Willey.


Jason Holder(c), Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Chris Gayle, John Campbell, Nicholas Pooran, Sheldon Cottrell, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Oshane Thomas.





  • Alex Hales
  • Jonny Bairstow (wk)
  • Eoin Morgan (c)

West Indies

  • Chris Gayle
  • Shimron Hetmeyer
  • Jason Holder



Probable Playing XI



Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Dawid Malan, Sam Billings, Eoin Morgan (c), Joe Denly, David Willey, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

West Indies:

Chris Gayle, John Campbell, Shai Hope (wk), Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder (c), Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Devendra Bishoo