Indian Women team are set to host the English Women for the opening ODI at the Wankhede stadium, Mumbai. England Women’s tour of India will commence with three ODIs followed by 3 T20Is from 22 February to 09 March.  All the ODIs will be played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai while the T20Is are scheduled to take place at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati. The home side would be eyeing to make the most of this home advantage and win all the three ODIs which are a part of ICC Women’s Championship.

Indian camp suffered a considerable blow when Harmanpreet Kaur was ruled out of this ODI series due to an ankle injury. The vice-skipper will be replaced by Harleen Deol in the ODI series as she will head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for her treatment. The 20-year-old all-rounder from Punjab can make her debut in the opening match under Mithali Raj. The hosts need to be aggressive on the field if they want to tame the English side. Having lost their T20I series in New Zealand, the Women in Blue would be eyeing to bounce back in style.

While England has come to India with a set game plan and full bench strength, it seems. They have recalled two seasoned campaigners- Sarah Taylor and Katherine Brunt for this crucial series. The visitors would be hoping for a positive result when they take on the Indian team. First ODI will be essential for them if they want to make a statement in this tour. Both the giants will lock horns in what is expected to be a mouth-watering tie.



Date: Friday, 22 February 2019

Time: 09:00 AM IST

Venue: Wankhede Stadium

League: England Women tour of India

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar (Website, App)



Team News


  • Harmanpreet Kaur has been ruled out of the ODI series following an ankle injury.
  • Uncapped Harleen Deol will replace the vice-skipper.
  • Ravi Kalpana will replace D Hemalatha behind the wickets.


  • Sarah Taylor and Katherine Brunt have been included in the ODI series
  • Jenny Gunn, Kirstie Gordon and Katie George are unavailable




England Women-

Sophia Dunkley, Tammy Beaumont, Anya Shrubsole, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Amy Jones, Heather Knight (C), Laura Marsh, Nat Sciver, Sarah Taylor (wk), Lauren Winfield, Alex Hartley, Danielle Wyatt

India Women-

Mithali Raj(c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana,  Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia, Ravi Kalpana, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Punam Raut


Key Players


England Women

  • Heather Knight
  • Sarah Taylor
  • Danielle Wyatt

India Women

  • , Smriti Mandhana
  • Mithali Raj
  • Jhulan Goswami


Probable Playing 11


England Women

Sarah Taylor, Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight, Amy Jones, Dani Wyatt, Natalie Sciver, Katherine Brunt, Anya Shrubsole, Sophie Ecclestone, Laura Marsh, Alex Heartly 

India Women

T Bhatia, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Jhulan Goswami, Harleen Deol/Ravi Kalpana, Mansi Joshi.




Sarah Taylor

Mithali Raj

Dani Wyatt

Heather Knight

Smriti Mandhana  (C)

Jemimah Rodriguez

Katherine Brunt

Natalie Sciver     (VC)

Poonam Yadav

Sophie Ecclestone

Anya Shrubsole



Stay Connected!