After one and a half months of enthralling and entertaining cricket, only two teams remain for the final showdown. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will battle it out tomorrow night in Hyderabad for the ultimate glory and IPL 2019 crown. Both the teams are set to face each other for the fourth time where Mumbai emerged victorious in all the previous three meetings. We can anticipate another thrilling contest when two of the most successful franchise in the IPL history will square off in this final bout.

Mumbai Indians have been the most impressive side in this edition of the Indian Premier League on the back of some scintillating performances. Rohit Sharma has led his Blue Army tremendously and got them to their fourth IPL finals. Mumbai Indians are on the cusp of lifting their record fourth title if they outplay the defending champions in the finals tomorrow. With match winners like Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah in their ranks, Mumbai would be eyeing to register another win over their arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings on the biggest stage.

Meanwhile, Chennai Super Kings has proved once again why experience is crucial even in the T-20 format. Having defeated Delhi Capitals in the second qualifier, the so-called Dad’s army is about to play their second consecutive IPL final. Dhoni & Co will collide with a familiar foe in the quest of their record fourth IPL title. The reigning champions will be under pressure too as Mumbai has a triple over them this season. However, Chennai would be hoping to land a counterpunch when both these IPL giants come face-to-face for one last time.


Match Details


Date: Sunday, 12 May 2019

Time: 07:30 PM IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

League: Indian Premier League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats IPL


Total Matches 69
Matches won batting first 32
Matches won bowling first 35
Average 1st Inns scores 163
Average 2nd Inns scores 149
Highest total recorded 231/4 (20 Ov) by DC vs KXIP
Lowest total recorded 60/10 (13.4 Ov) by DC vs MI
Highest score chased 214/3 (17.3 Ov) by DC vs GL
Lowest score defended 118/4 (18 Ov) by DC vs KXIP


Head-to-Head record


Total: 29

CSK: 12

MI: 17


Team News


Mumbai Indians

  • Mitchell McClenaghan might feature in the starting lineup in place of Jayant Yadav depending upon the pitch conditions.

Chennai Super Kings

  • Shardul Thakur can be dropped to make way for Murali Vijay or Dhruv Shorey after his poor outing in the previous game.




Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Rasikh Dar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jason Behrendorff, Anukul Roy, Anmolpreet Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Pankaj Jaiswal, Aditya Tare, Rahul Chahar, Beuran Hendricks and Jayant Yadav

Chennai Super Kings

Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Scott Kuggeleijn, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Dhruv Shorey, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, KM Asif, Monu Kumar


Key players


Mumbai Indians

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Lasith Malinga

Chennai Super Kings

  • Shane Watson
  • MS Dhoni
  • Imran Tahir 


Probable playing XI


Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (WK), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell Mclenaghan/ Jayant Yadav , Rahul Chahar, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings

Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dhruv Shorey/ Murali Vijay, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir.