India won their first-ever test series on the Australian soil and will look to continue their fine form, heading into the ODI series. They won the test series by 2-1 and outplayed the host in every department. The first ODI will be played at Sydney Cricket Ground when the kangaroos will host Kohli’s regime for the opening encounter. Second and third ODI will be played at Melbourne and Adelaide on 15th and 18th January respectively.

Aaron Finch has announced his playing 11 for the upcoming match in Sydney. Australian batting will rely heavily on their most senior campaigners Aaron Finch, Usman Khwaja and Shaun Marsh. Alex Carey and Peter Handscomb are relatively new to the international scene but are exciting new talent.

Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell have been added to the squad to balance the side with their All-round ability. Nathan Lyon has been picked ahead of the leggie,  Adam Zampa. His guile and experience make him a crucial asset for the Aussies. Jhye Richardson and Jason Behrendorff will lead the pace attack, along with Peter Siddle who is making his ODI comeback after almost eight years.

Team India will be beaming with confidence after creating history in Sydney. Kohli & Co became the first Asian side to demolish the Kangaroos in their own den. After the T20 series ended in a frustrating fashion, Virat Kohli and his team couldn’t afford to miss this golden opportunity. India had a clear shot at winning their first test series on Australian soil in 71 years. Finally, after waiting for nearly seven decades, Kohli’s regime achieved a feat which has never been done before by any Asian team. The Indian Team toiled really hard for this victory and gifted Indian Cricket fans a memory to cherish for a lifetime.

Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni have joined the national team for the three ODIs. All of them were seen getting ready for the upcoming contest and sweating it out in the nets. Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for this series, and Mohammed Siraj will be seen taking his place. India is likely to go with the combination of Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed and Mohammed Shami in the opening game. The spin department will be lead by Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Both of them will be pivotal to Team India’s success as Australian batsmen don’t have a good record against quality spin bowling. Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya will provide stability to the Indian side. Men in Blue will try to dominate the home side in the early stages of the game, to put them under pressure from the word go.




Date: Saturday, January 12, 2019.

Time:  7:50 AM IST

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

League: India tour of Australia 2018-19, 1st ODI

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:


Ground Report


The Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney assists the spinners and also a batting friendly wicket.

This wicket has something that spinners can cherish and look forward to.

Ground Stats

Total matches – 155

Matches won batting first – 86

Matches won bowling first – 62

Average 1st Inns scores – 221

Average 2nd Inns scores – 187

Highest total recorded – 408/5 (50 Ov) by RSA vs WI

Lowest total recorded – 63/10 (25.5 Ov) by IND vs AUS

Highest score chased – 334/8 (49.2 Ov) by AUS vs Eng

Lowest score defended – 101/9 (30 Ov) by AUS vs WI


Team News



Aussies have named their starting eleven ahead of the match

Peter Siddle gets a recall, Lyon preferred over A Zampa

Mitchell Marsh is ruled out of the first ODI


Bumrah gets rested, M. Siraj set to replace him.

KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya can be suspended for this match, after creating controversy with the BBCI.  



Australia- Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Ashton Turner

India –Virat Kohli(c), Kuldeep Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Mohammed Siraj, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik, Mohammed Shami



Probable PLAYING 11



  1. Alex Carey
  2. Aaron Finch
  3. Usman Khawaja
  4. Shaun Marsh
  5. Peter Handscomb
  6. Glenn Maxwell
  7. Marcus Stoinis
  8. Peter Siddle
  9. Nathan Lyon
  10. Jhye Richardson
  11. Jason Behrendorff



  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Ambati Rayudu
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. MS Dhoni
  6. Hardik Pandya
  7. R Jadeja
  8. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar
  9. Yuzvendra Chahal/M Siraj
  10. Kuldeep Yadav
  11. Khaleel Ahmed