Team India will take on the home side, New Zealand for the second ODI in the 5-match series. The Kiwis are set to host the Indian Team in what is expected to be an epic encounter, unlike the last match. Virat Kohli would be eyeing to seal another series on the road to ICC World Cup and dominate the game just like they did in the first ODI. Team India will be looking to make a statement in this series after their historic Australian tour.

The Blackcaps would be hoping to bounce back in style and deliver a sucker punch. New Zealand is highly rated in the limited overs format and especially in their home conditions they are surely a team to beat. Kane Williamson needs to get assistance from his team if they want to stay alive in this series. The Kiwis are regarded as the Dark Horses heading into the ICC World Cup 2019 just like the last World Cup in which they reached the finals.

Team India needs to get this momentum going and won the upcoming match to put the pressure right back on the hosts. Kohli & Co must be pleased how the things are panning out to be and how the team is performing as a unit.

Both the sides have a similar record in the last two years. India has won 22 games out of their 35 played in the last two years. New Zealand after the loss has now won 22 out of their 35 matches in last two years.





Date: Saturday, January 26, 2019.

Time:  07:30 AM IST

Venue: Bay Oval, Maunganui

League: India tour of New Zealand 2019

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar



Recent Form


New Zealand- L W W W L

India – W W W L W


Last five Head-to-Head


New Zealand- 1, India – 4


Ground Stats ODI



Total Matches 7
Matches won batting first 4
Matches won bowling first 3
Average 1st Inns scores 275
Average 2nd Inns scores 252
Highest total recorded 371/7 (50 Ov) by NZ vs SL
Lowest total recorded 210/10 (46.3 Ov) by NZ vs RSA
Highest score chased 236/4 (48.1 Ov) by RSA vs NZ
Lowest score defended 294/5 (50 Ov) by NZ vs SL


Team News



  • Hardik Pandya has been asked to join the squad in New Zealand.
  • No changes are expected.

New Zealand

  • Doug Bracewell can replace Colin de Grandhomme.





  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli(c)
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar


New Zealand


  • Martin Guptill
  • Kane Williamson (C)
  • Ross Taylor






Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill.

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson(c), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor



Probable Playing 11



  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Virat Kohli(c)
  4. MS Dhoni(w)
  5. Kedar Jadhav
  6. Ambati Rayudu
  7. Vijay Shankar
  8. Kuldeep Yadav
  9. Yuzvendra Chahal
  10. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  11. Mohammed Shami


New Zealand

  1. Martin Guptill
  2. Colin Munro
  3. Kane Williamson(c)
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Tom Latham(w)
  6. Henry Nicholls
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Doug Bracewell/Colin de Grandhomme
  9. Tim Southee
  10. Lockie Ferguson
  11. Trent Boult