The Blackcaps are set to host the Indian team for the second T20I at the Eden Park, Auckland. The Kiwis hammered the visitors by 80 runs in an entirely one-sided affair. The Blue Brigade suffered the biggest T20I defeat in terms of runs. Team India must be eyeing to land a counter-punch in this crunch match if they want to stay alive in this series. Both the sides will lock horns on Friday evening in what is anticipated to be a cracker contest between two heavyweights.

New Zealand outplayed the traveling side in the first match to take a 1-0 lead in this three-match series. This win was vital for the hosts after being thrashed 4-1 in the ODI series by the same side. There must be a sense of calmness and confidence in the Kiwi camp as they performed well under pressure. Having won the toss, team India decided to field first which eventually backfired because the pitch was a nightmare for bowlers. Colin Munro (34) and Tim Siefert (84) gave the hosts a flying start in the powerplay. The young wicket-keeper was declared the ‘Man of the Match’ for his exceptional inning of 84 runs in just 43 balls. Kane Williamson (34 off 22) and Scott Kuggeleijn (20 off 7) made some crucial contribution down the order to help their side put a mammoth total of 219-6 on the board.

India started the chase terribly as the skipper got out to Tim Southee in the third over, caught in the deep trying to hit one out of the park. Dhawan and Vijay Shankar steadied the ship for a while before the former was cleaned up by a toe-crushing Yorker from Lockie Ferguson. At the end of the batting powerplay, the visitors lost both the openers with just 52 runs on the board. Wickets kept regularly falling from both the ends and soon team India were bundled out for only 139 runs. Such massive defeat will serve as a reality check for the Indian camp, who would be eyeing to bounce back in this must-win match.

Indian management might consider making some changes heading into this crunch game. Shubman Gill, Siddharth Kaul, and Kuldeep Yadav might be seen in the playing eleven. However, the home side might go with the same eleven as they will not look to disturb their winning combination.





Date: Friday, February 08, 2019.

Time:  11:30 AM IST

Venue: Eden Park, Auckland

League: India tour of New Zealand 2019

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar




Head to head (in T20Is)


Total – 09

India – 02

New Zealand – 07


Ground Stats T20


Total Matches 17
Matches won batting first 9
Matches won bowling first 6
Average 1st Inns scores 172
Average 2nd Inns scores 149
Highest total recorded 245/5 (18.5 Ov) by AUS vs NZ
Lowest total recorded 107/10 (14.5 Ov) by NZ vs RSA
Highest score chased 245/5 (18.5 Ov) by AUS vs NZ
Lowest score defended 165/7 (20 Ov) by RSA vs NZ


Team News



  • Shubman Gill might come in to replace Dinesh Karthik
  • Kuldeep Yadav can get a chance in this match.
  • Khaleel Ahmed can make way for Siddharth Kaul

New Zealand

  • Doug Bracewell might come in to replace Scott Kuggeleijn.
  • Either James Neesham or Colin de Grandhomme will be in playing 11.




Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, MS Dhoni(wk), Rishabh Pant, Kedhar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Sidharth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed

New Zealand

James Neesham, Colin Munro, Tim Siefert(WK), Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Daryl Mitchell, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Doug Bracewell, Blair Tickner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi






  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Hardik Pandya


New Zealand

  • Colin Munro
  • Kane Williamson(c)
  • Tim Southee



Probable Playing XI



  1. Rohit Sharma(c)
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Rishabh Pant
  4. Vijay Shankar
  5. Dinesh Karthik/ Shubman Gill
  6. MS Dhoni(w)
  7. Hardik Pandya/ Krunal Pandya
  8. Kuldeep Yadav
  9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  10. Yuzvendra Chahal
  11. Siddharth Kaul/ Khaleel Ahmed


New Zealand

  1. Colin Munro
  2. Tim Seifert(w)
  3. Kane Williamson(c)
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Daryl Mitchell
  6. Colin de Grandhomme/James Neesham
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Scott Kuggeleijn/Doug Bracewell
  9. Tim Southee
  10. Ish Sodhi
  11. Lockie Ferguson




Tim Seifert

Shikhar Dhawan

Ross Taylor         (VC)

Kane Williamson   (C)

Colin Munro

Krunal Pandya

Mitchell Santner

Hardik Pandya

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Lockie Ferguson

Tim Southee




M Dhoni

Rohit Sharma   (C)

Dinesh Karthik

Rishab Pant

Ross Taylor

Darly Mitchell

Vijay Shankar

Jimmi Neesham   (VC)

Yuzvendra Chahal

Ish Sodhi

Kuldeep Yadav