Indian Team have sealed yet another ODI series in style in New Zealand. The Blue Brigade has been in prime form since arriving in New Zealand, after their historic tour Down Under. They have outplayed the host in all the three departments to win the series by 3-0 after the first three games. Team India’s confidence is on another level which was quite evident on the pitch in this series.

Virat Kohli will be rested for the rest of the tour while Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side in his 200th ODI at Hamilton. India will take this as an opportunity to whitewash the Kiwis on their home turf. There has been a lot of talk about Shubhman Gill, who is set to replace Kohli in the starting lineup. With the ICC World Cup 2019 in sight, India will give their reserve players a go in the remaining games. Dead rubber matches are ideal situations for the team to test their bench strength and give them ample of game-time.

The Blackcaps, on the contrary, will be fighting for their pride in the remaining two games. The home side has issues to ponder as the first three games were one-sided. Kane Williamson has struggled in this series and often ended up giving his wicket away after getting decent starts. Tom Latham and Ross Taylor have been rock-solid against the seamers and spinners while scoring the majority of runs for New Zealand. Their bowlers also failed to give early breakthroughs and put some pressure on the Indian batting lineup. Boult, Ferguson and Bracewell need to do some damage up front to get the visitors on the back-foot.

MS Dhoni might not be fit enough to return in this ODI and Dinesh Karthik can keep his place. He missed the last game too due to his hamstring strain. Jimmy Neesham and Todd Astle will feature in the squad for the final two games. The hosts would be eyeing to make a statement in the series which has been quite a one-sided affair. While the Indian team would hope to keep their winning juggernaut running, as we head to the fourth ODI and win the series by 5-0.




Date: Wednesday, January 31, 2019.

Time:  07:30 AM IST

Venue: Seddon Park, Hamilton

League: India tour of New Zealand 2019

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Ground Stats


Total Matches 33
Matches won batting first 11
Matches won bowling first 20
Average 1st Inns scores 243
Average 2nd Inns scores 220
Highest total recorded 363/4 (50 Ov) by WI vs NZ
Lowest total recorded 122/10 (44.5 Ov) by IND vs NZ
Highest score chased 350/9 (49.3 Ov) by NZ vs AUS
Lowest score defended 182/9 (35 Ov) by NZ vs SL


Team News



  • Virat Kohli is rested by the management, so he will not feature for the rest of the games.
  • Shubman Gill is set to make his debut and replace Kohli.

New Zealand

  • James Neesham comes back to the side after his injury and replaces Doug Bracewell.
  • Todd Astle, the leggie is likely to make his way in the starting lineup rather than Ish Sodhi.




Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill.

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson(c), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Todd Astle





  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand

  • Martin Guptill
  • Kane Williamson (C)
  • Ross Taylor

Probable Playing XI



  1. Rohit Sharma(c)
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Shubman Gill
  4. Ambati Rayudu
  5. Kedar Jadhav
  6. Dinesh Karthik(w)
  7. Hardik Pandya
  8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  9. Kuldeep Yadav
  10. Mohammed Shami
  11. Yuzvendra Chahal


New Zealand

  1. Martin Guptill
  2. Colin Munro
  3. Kane Williamson(c)
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Tom Latham(w)
  6. Henry Nicholls
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. James Neesham
  9. Todd Astle
  10. Lockie Ferguson
  11. Trent Boult