Royal Challengers Bangalore have been a powerhouse in the Indian Premier League since the inaugural season. However, they have also season been an underachiever despite having some great players in their ranks. Last season was no different when they finished sixth in the league table. Virat Kohli has been an exceptional leader for his side, but they did not possess any other match-winner apart from him and AB de Villiers. RCB’s miserable season ended with six wins and eight defeats in their 14 outings.

Having played the finals three times, they are one of the giants who hasn’t lifted the IPL trophy yet. The team management decided to take the matter in their hands and tried to build a well-balanced team in last year’s auction. RCB bought some quality players like Shimron Hetmyer, Shivam Dube and Heinrich Klaasen in the IPL Auction 2019. They look a scary side now after filling almost every void in their squad. RCB’s batting has always been their strength, but now their bowling attack seems lethal with a right combination of pace and spin attack.

RCB traded Mandeep Singh for Marcus Stoinis before the auction began to bring another good all-rounder option in their ranks. Later on, they released Quinton de Kock, Chris Woakes, Sarfraz Khan, Brendon McCullum, and Corey Anderson from their 25-man squad to make way for some new faces. RCB has the potential and power to dominate any other team as they possess some explosive batsmen along at the top of the order along with some terrific bowling attack. RCB arguably has the most balanced side on paper. Kohli & Co can well be on course to lift their first-ever IPL trophy.


Below is the full list of players bought by the Mumbai Indians with their salaries:



Name Batting style Bowling style Salary
AB de Villiers Right-handed Right-arm medium ₹11 crore (US$1.5 million)
Shimron Hetmyer Left-handed Right-arm leg break ₹4 crore (US$556,584.00)
Virat Kohli Right-handed Right-arm medium ₹17 crore (US$2.4 million)
Himmat Singh Right Handed Right-arm medium ₹65 lakh (US$90,000)
Devdutt Padikkal Left Handed Right-arm off-break ₹20 lakh (US$28,000)
Marcus Stoinis Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Pawan Negi Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox ₹1 crore (US$139,000)
Moeen Ali Left-handed Right-arm off break ₹1.7 crore (US$237,000)
Colin de Grandhomme Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast ₹2.2 crore (US$306,000)
Washington Sundar Left-handed Right-arm off break ₹3.2 crore (US$445,000)
Shivam Dube Left Handed Right-arm medium ₹5 crore (US$695,730.00)
Akshdeep Nath Right Handed Right-arm fast medium ₹3.6 crore (US$500,925.60)
Milind Kumar Right Handed Right-arm off break ₹20 lakh (US$28,000)
Gurkeerat Singh Right Handed Right-arm off break ₹50 lakh (US$70,000)
Prayas Ray Barman Right Handed Right-arm Leg-break ₹1.5 crore (US$208,719.00)
Parthiv Patel Left-handed ₹1.7 crore (US$237,000)
Heinrich Klaasen Right-handed Wicketkeeper ₹50 lakh (US$70,000)
Yuzvendra Chahal Right-handed Right-arm leg break ₹6 crore (US$835,000)
Kulwant Khejroliya Left-handed Left-arm medium-fast ₹85 lakh (US$118,000)
Umesh Yadav Right-handed Right-arm fast medium ₹4.2 crore (US$584,000)
Mohammed Siraj Right-handed Right-arm fast medium ₹2.6 crore (US$362,000)
Tim Southee Right-handed Right-arm fast medium ₹1 crore (US$139,000)
Nathan Coulter-Nile Right-handed Right-arm fast ₹2.2 crore (US$306,000)
Navdeep Saini Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast ₹3 crore (US$417,000)