The Indian Premier League is again back with the weekend action when we will witness a doubleheader tomorrow. In the opening match, Chennai Super Kings will host the Kings XI Punjab followed by another enthralling encounter between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians. After tasting their first defeat of the campaign, CSK will square off against Kings XI Punjab at the Chepauk Stadium tomorrow evening.

Chennai Super Kings started the season in the flying fashion with three wins in as many matches. The Yellow juggernaut was halted by the mighty Mumbai Indians in their previous game when CSK lost by 37 runs. The hosts would be eyeing to get back to winning ways heading into their third home game of the season. However, the batting woes continue to haunt Dhoni & Co as they lack the firepower in the middle order. With the home crowd behind their back, CSK has the upper hand in this battle of Kings, but they can’t afford to take their opponents lightly.

Meanwhile, Kings XI Punjab is having a great time in the league so far. Their all the plans seem to be clicking, and most importantly they are playing as a unit. The visitors would be hoping to upset the reigning champions in their den. Their previous victory against Delhi Capitals would have given them a world of confidence as they clinched it from the jaws of defeat. Punjab’s skipper Ravichandran Ashwin knows the conditions at the Chepauk very well, and with some in-form players, he will be determined to breach the Chennai fortress.



Date: Saturday, April 06, 2019

Time:  04:00 PM IST

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

League: Indian Premier League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar



Head to Head


Total Played: 20

CSK Won- 12

KXIP Won- 08


Venue Stats


Matches won batting first – 30

Matches won bowling first – 19

Average 1st Inns scores – 164

Average 2nd Inns scores – 151

Highest total recorded – 246/5 (20 Ov) by CSK vs RR

Lowest total recorded – 70/10 (17.1 Ov) by RCB vs CSK

Highest score chased – 208/5 (20 Ov) by CSK vs RCB

Lowest score defended – 134/6 (20 Ov) by CSK vs KKR


Last five encounters at Chepauk


Chennai Super Kings – 03

Kings XI Punjab – 02


Team News


Chennai Super Kings

  • Dwayne Bravo can be ruled out of this fixture due to his hamstring injury.
  • Mitchell Santner or Scott Kuggeleijn might replace him in the starting lineup.
  • Mohit Sharma can miss out due to the slowness of the pitch
  • Harbhajan Singh or leg spinner Karn Sharma can be brought in to replace the seamer.


Kings XI Punjab

  • Chris Gayle might make a comeback in this playing XI against CSK.
  • Hardus Viljoen can make way for the Jamaican.
  • The visitors have three quality spinners for Chepauk’s pitch.
  • Mandeep Singh might sit out in this game following his injury while Karun Nair can get a chance in his absence.




Chennai Super Kings

David Willey, Murali Vijay, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Monu Kumar, Faf du Plessis, Deepak Chahar, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w/c), Kedar Jadhav, Suresh Raina, Dhruv Shorey, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, N Jagadeesan, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, KM Asif, Sam Billings, Mohit Sharma

Kings XI Punjab

Murugan Ashwin, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Chris Gayle, Arshdeep Singh, Moises Henriques, Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Mohammed Shami, Karun Nair, Lokesh Rahul, Ankit Rajpoot, Nicholas Pooran, Hardus Viljoen, Andrew Tye, Sam Curran, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Agnivesh Ayachi, Darshan Nalkande, Varun Chakravarthy, Simran Singh, David Miller, Harpreet Brar


Key Players


Chennai Super Kings

  • Shane Watson
  • Suresh Raina
  • Imran Tahir

Kings XI Punjab

  • KL Rahul
  • David Miller
  • Sam Curran


Probable Playing XI


Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, David Miller, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh/Karun Nair, R Ashwin, M Ashwin, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Sam Curran, Mohd Shami.


Chennai Super Kings

Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis/ Sam Billings, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma/Harbhajan Singh/Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur