After registering three consecutive victories, Delhi Capitals is set to host Mumbai Indians at the Feroz Shah Kotla tomorrow night. The hosts must be beaming with confidence post their string of successful performances in the recent games while the Blue Army will be determined to avenge their 37-run defeat against Delhi Capitals in the opening fixture. We can expect another intriguing encounter when these two teams will battle it out for the second time in this tournament.

Delhi Capitals have turned out to the dark horses in this edition of the Indian Premier League. With Ricky Ponting and Saurav Ganguly at the helm, the hosts look a different unit who can beat any given team on their day. Currently, they have taken up the second spot in the points table on the back of five victories in their eight outings. Shreyas Iyer is leading his side from the front, scoring the most runs (266) for the Delhi franchise in this season. Along with Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant, they possess an explosive batting lineup which can take apart any bowling attack.

Mumbai Indians have too managed to get their campaign back on track after a slow start. Rohit Sharma would be eyeing to register another victory when they take on the Capitals. Having won five games and lost three, the visitors are placed at the third spot in the points table, only trailing behind Delhi by Net Run Rate. Lasith Malinga made a sensational comeback in the previous encounter to register another win courtesy some brilliant death bowling. Mumbai have to bowl well on the tricky pitch of Kotla if they want to dominate the fixture tomorrow night.


Match details


Date: Thursday, April 18, 2019

Time: 8:00 PM IST

Venue: Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

League: Indian Premier League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar

Venue Stats IPL


Total Matches 69
Matches won batting first 32
Matches won bowling first 35
Average 1st Inns scores 163
Average 2nd Inns scores 149
Highest total recorded 231/4 (20 Ov) by DC vs KXIP
Lowest total recorded 66/10 (13.4 Ov) by DC vs MI
Highest score chased 214/3 (17.3 Ov) by DC vs GL
Lowest score defended 118/4 (11 Ov) by DC vs KXIP



Head-to-head Record


Total Matches- 23

Delhi Capitals – 12

Mumbai Indians- 11


Team News

Delhi Capitals

  • The hosts are likely to go ahead with the same starting lineup.
  • Colin Munro will keep his place after a decent performance.

Mumbai Indians

  • Rohit Sharma might bring in Mayank Markende for this contest.
  • Rahul Chahar will have to make way for his fellow leggie.




Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Hanuma Vihari, Colin Munro, Ishant Sharma, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Bandaru Ayyappa, Sandeep Lamichhane, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Keemo Paul, Axar Patel, Manjot Kalra, Jalaj Saxena, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Nathu Singh, Trent Boult, Ankush Bains, Rishabh Pant.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(C), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Evin Lewis, Adam Milne, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jason Behrendorff, Siddhesh Lad, Anmolpreet Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Anukul Sudhakar Roy, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Pankaj Jaiswal


Key Players


Delhi Capitals

  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Kagiso Rabada

Mumbai Indians

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Jasprit Bumrah


Probable Playing XI


Delhi Capitals

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer (C), Rishabh Pant (WK), Chris Morris, Axar Patel, Keemo Paul, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma.

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jason Behrendorff, Rahul Chahar / Mayank Markande, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah.