Kolkata Knight Riders are ready to welcome Mumbai Indians at the iconic Eden Gardens in the 47th fixture of the Indian Premier League.  The hosts will be desperate to get back to winning ways while the Blue Army must be eyeing to claim the top spot in the league table with another win. As we are heading into the business end of the tournament, both the teams will battle it out twice in the space of three days.

Kolkata Knight Riders have had a topsy-turvy campaign so far in this IPL 2019. Having started their season on a high, the hosts have lost six consecutive matches. Dinesh Karthik played an impressive unbeaten knock of 97 against Rajasthan Royals in their previous game. However, his heroics went in vain as the Royals clinched a last-over victory at the same venue. Kolkata Knight Riders are lying precariously at the sixth spot in the points table with four wins and seven defeats in their eleven outings.

Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians have been the most dangerous side in the IPL 2019. With seven wins in their eleven league fixtures, the Blue Army is sitting comfortably at the second spot in the points table. The visitors would be eyeing to register another win and seal the top spot in the upcoming match at Kolkata. Rohit Sharma(67) and Lasith Malinga(4-37) came to the party against CSK to beat the defending champions by 46 runs in their last encounter. Mumbai Indians has the potential to go all the way this season and clinch their fourth IPL title.




Date: Sunday, April 28, 2019

Time: 08:00 PM IST

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

League: Indian Premier League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats IPL


Total Matches 73
Matches won batting first 28
Matches won bowling first 45
Average 1st Inns scores 157
Average 2nd Inns scores 144
Highest total recorded 218/4 (20 Ov) by KKR vs KXIP
Lowest total recorded 49/10 (9.4 Ov) by RCB vs KKR
Highest score chased 204/2 (18.2 Ov) by KXIP vs KKR
Lowest score defended 114/4 (20 Ov) by CSK vs KKR


Head-to-Head Record


Total – 23

Kolkata Knight Riders- 08

Mumbai Indians- 15




Kolkata Knight Riders

  • Kuldeep Yadav is likely to replace Yarra Prithviraj in the starting lineup.
  • Robbie Uthappa might return to the squad to strengthen their batting lineup.

Mumbai Indians

  • The visitors are likely to go ahead with the same winning combination.



Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Harry Gurney, Rinku Singh, Nikhil Naik, Joe Denly, Shrikant Mundhe, Carlos Brathwaite, Sandeep Warrier, Lockie Ferguson, Yarra Prithviraj, KC Cariappa, Matthew Kelly

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Rasikh Dar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jason Behrendorff, Anukul Roy, Anmolpreet Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Pankaj Jaiswal, Aditya Tare, Rahul Chahar, Alzarri Joseph and Jayant Yadav




Kolkata Knight Riders

  • Chris Lynn
  • Sunil Narine
  • Andre Russell

Mumbai Indians

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Lasith Malinga


Probable Playing XI


Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Lynn, Suni Narine, Robin Uthappa/Rinkoo Singh, Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Dinesh Karthik (C, WK), Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Harry Gurney 

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma(C), Quinton de Kock(WK), Evan Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah and Malinga