The Indian Premier League 2019 is set to reach Hyderabad when Sunrisers host Rajasthan Royals at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. The hosts will look to make the most of their home conditions while the Royals will try to breach their fortress. Both the teams remain winless after their opening fixture and are still searching for their first victory in this campaign.

Sunrisers Hyderabad looks a dangerous side on the paper, but that was indeed not the case in the opening match when Kolkata Knight Riders defeated them. Andre Russell hit some huge sixes to take the game away from them singlehandedly. Sunrisers Hyderabad learned the lesson the hard way, and their bowlers will be cautious in the upcoming matches while defending totals. David Warner made a sensational comeback in Kolkata much to Hyderabad’s delight. The hosts would be eyeing to dominate the fixture in the upcoming match to register their first victory in the IPL 2019.

Rajasthan Royals started their campaign on a promising note, but they made the same mistake as Hyderabad which cost them the match. They were cruising at one stage with seven wickets in hand, but soon enough their batsmen led to their demise. Rahane & Co lost the opening match by 14 runs courtesy some poor shot selection and lack of finishing ability. The visitors would be hoping to learn from their previous mistakes and bounce back heading into the 8th fixture of the Indian Premier League 2019.




Date: Friday, March 29, 2019

Time: 08:00 PM IST

Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

League: Indian Premier League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar





Total – 9

Rajasthan Royals – 4

Sunrisers Hyderabad – 5



Ground Stats


Average 1st Inns scores –  155

Average 2nd Inns scores –  147

Highest total recorded  –  223/3 (20 Ov) by CSK vs SRH

Lowest total recorded – 80/10 (19.1 Ov) by DC vs SRH

Highest score chased –  217/7 (19.5 Ov) by RR vs DCG

Lowest score defended – 129/8 (20 Ov) by MI vs RPS

Team News


Sunrisers Hyderabad

  •  Kane Williamson can feature in the starting lineup as he is fit enough to start the game.
  • Billy Stanlake might also start the game for the hosts.

Rajasthan Royals

  • Rajasthan is likely to go ahead with an unchanged team.
  • Ashton Turner will not be contributing for Rajasthan Royals as he has to serve for national duty.




SunRisers Hyderabad

Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Martin Guptill, Wriddhiman Saha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, David Warner, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Kane Williamson (c), Jonny Bairstow, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Sandeep Sharma, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi, Rashid Khan, K Khaleel Ahmed, Abhishek Sharma

Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane (c), Oshane Thomas, Jofra Archer, Riyan Parag, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Manan Vohra, Aryaman Birla, Sudhesan Midhun, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shashank Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Shubham Ranjane, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Steven Smith, Rahul Tripathi, Shreyas Gopal, Liam Livingstone, Jos Buttler, Prashant Chopra, Ashton Turner Ish Sodhi


Key Players



SunRisers Hyderabad

  • David Warner
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Rashid Khan

Rajasthan Royals

  • Jos Butler
  • Ben Stokes
  • Jofra Archer



Probable Playing XI


Sunrisers Hyderabad

Shakib Al Hasan, Vijay Shankar, W Saha, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, David Warner, Yusuf Pathan/Deepak Hooda, Sandeep Sharma/K Khaleel Ahmed, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul.

Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Jaydev Unadkat, Krishnappa Gowtham, Steve Smith, Dhawal Kulkarni