With IPL 2019 just around the corner, cricket fans are waiting with more excitement than ever.

Ever since Brendon McCullum started the ritual back in the inaugural game on 18th April 2008, the IPL has always been lit up by the fireworks produced by the batsmen. After all, it is a batsman’s game, as announced Baz, with his unbeaten 158 off just 73 deliveries.

A team scoring 222 runs in only 20 overs was a big deal back in 2008. It was the perfect way to kickstart the grandest cricket league in the entire world. The journey of the IPL has been quite sensational since that game, but when you look back into the vault, that unbelievable knock by McCullum will remain special forever.

Many world-class batsmen have graced the IPL with their presence over the years. From Sachin Tendulkar to Ricky Ponting and from Sanath Jayasuriya to Stephen Fleming, everyone has played a remarkable role for their respective franchises.

Apart from such batting legends, there have been a few players who have taken centre-stage in garnering all the acclaim and appreciation. Here, we take a look back at the last 10 years to find out the batsmen who have been scoring runs the most consistently in the IPL.


5. Robin Uthappa


Robin Uthappa has always been a cricketer who will be remembered for what he couldn’t achieve rather than what he did. He was in the Indian national team since 2006 but failed to make the most of his given opportunities. After winning the first T-20 World Cup in South Africa, Uthappa was highly rated as a T-20 player as he played a significant role in that victorious campaign. Mumbai Indian bought him in the opening season of the IPL, but he didn’t remain there for long. In the next season, he went to Royal Challengers Bangalore for two years where he started to make an impact. Pune Warriors came in the scene in 2011 and signed him up for another two seasons before Kolkata Knight Riders welcomed him in 2014.

He is a remarkable batsman with a sound technique and unpredictable footwork. He wasn’t afraid to go down the tracks against a fast bowler to hit him over his head. His athletism in the field also made him a complete player. He has also kept wickets for the Kolkata Knight Riders which showed how selfless he was. Robin Uthappa has scored over 4,086 runs in 165 IPL matches playing for four different teams. It took him 158 innings to score these many runs at a strike rate of 131.84.


4. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir is an unsung hero of the golden generation in the Indian Cricket team. He was always a leader no matter if he opens the innings with the bat or leads his team on the field. After an illustrious career with the Indian Cricket, he announced to hang his boots last year. Always a Delhi-boy by heart he started his IPL journey with Delhi Daredevils which came to an end in 2011. Kolkata Knight Riders pounced on the opportunity to sign him in as their skipper which was a masterstroke. Gautam Gambhir lifted two IPL titles in the next three years to make the City of Joy erupt with pride and happiness.

His records with the bat have also been staggering throughout all these years. He has scored 4,217 runs in the history of IPL at an average of 31.23. Gauti has also scored most number of the fifties (36) in the Indian Premier League along with most boundaries (491) in the league.


3. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has recently evolved as one of the best batsmen that limited overs cricket has ever seen. His journey in the IPL has been very successful as he is the only player with four IPL titles. After lifting the trophy in the second year with Deccan Chargers, the Hitman went back to his home team Mumbai Indians in 2011. Since arriving in Mumbai, he has been in sublime form with the bat and has also led them to three titles.

He has scored 4493 runs so far in the IPL throughout the ten seasons for both Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians.

2. Virat Kohli

Unarguably the best batsmen in the world across all the three formats, Virat Kohli, has been a star since his U-19 days when he led the Indian team to World Cup glory. Virat Kohli is second in this list of all-time run scorers in the history of IPL. He is such a technically gifted batsman that he makes batting look so effortlessly easy. Kohli has been in the Royal Challengers squad since the inaugural season in 2008.

He has scored 4,948 runs in the IPL so far with an incredible average of 38.35 in 155 innings. RCB’s skipper has often led his team to the victory with his bat for all these years.


  1. Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina is probably one of the most explosive batsmen of his era and often the most underrated batsmen in the Indian Cricket team. He was a prominent part in the Golden generation of Indian team under Dhoni. However, in the IPL Suresh Raina has been the best batsmen in the last decade or so. He is an epitome of fearless and attacking cricket which is vital in the current generation.

Raina is the only batsmen in the history of the IPL to score 400+ runs in every season that he has played since 2008. Chennai Super Kings is his permanent home from the beginning of the IPL, though he led Gujarat Lions for two seasons when CSK was banned from the IPL. Raina is sitting at the top of the chart with 4,985 IPL runs with a strike rate of 138.47. He is a good striker of the ball along with an exceptional fielder, which makes a valuable asset for any T-20 team.