The Cricket Carnival is set to return in India from 23rd March 2019. The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the schedule for the first two weeks of the 2019 season. The entire schedule couldn’t be released beforehand due to the Lok Sabha elections which will take place in April and May. The BCCI added that they would “address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates.”

The reigning champions, Chennai Super Kings, will collide with Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural match of the IPL 2019. MA Chidambaram Stadium, the home ground of CSK will witness the grand opening of the VIVO IPL this year. The IPL schedule for the first two weeks of this edition was released by the BCCI on 19th February. All the teams will play four IPL matches in the first two weeks, apart from Delhi Capital and RCB which will play five league matches. According to the current IPL match schedule, as many as 17 games will be played from March 23 to April 5, with three double-header days on March 24, 30 and 31.
The second encounter will be between Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad followed by another nail-biting contest between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals on the same day. The Capitals are scheduled to play three home games in the first two weeks while the Royal Challengers will play three away games. The rest of the teams will play two home and two away games each.

Here is the schedule of the first two weeks.