FC Goa is set to host the defending champions Chennaiyin Fc at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium for their final league fixture in the ISL 2018-19. The Gaurs have been on a goal-scoring spree in this season while Chennaiyin FC are going through a horrible campaign. Both these sides will lock horns for the second time in this season. FC Goa emerged victorious in that previous encounter at Chennai by 3-1.
FC Goa has been a powerhouse in the ISL since the inaugural edition, but it is their attacking prowess which makes them just unstoppable. The hosts can secure the first spot in the league standings by beating Chennaiyin FC tonight. The team management will be looking to rest some players ahead of the playoffs. They are currently at the second spot in the league table with 31 points in 17 games. Heading into the final match, FC Goa would be eyeing to finish the league stages on a winning note.
On the contrary, Chennaiyin FC has been in terrible form so far in this campaign. The reigning champions could only manage to win a couple of games in their 17 outings. Currently, they are languishing at the bottom of the table with only 9 points. After such a horrendous season, the visitors have also been called the worst defending champions in the history of the ISL. Chennaiyin FC would be hoping to end this humiliating season on a high.




Date: Thursday, 28 February 2019

Time: 07:30 PM IST

Venue: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Goa

League: Indian Super League

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar (Website, App)


Recent form (Last six matches)

FC Goa – D W D W W L
Chennaiyin FC – L L L W L D


Team News:

FC Goa:

  • Ferran Corominas could be rested ahead of the playoffs.
  • Naveen Kumar will be standing between the sticks for FC Goa.

Chennaiyin FC:

  • The visitors can test their bench strength in their final match.
  • Karanjit Singh will be the goalkeeper for Chennaiyin FC.



Probable Playing 11

FC Goa– Naveen Kumar (GK), Seriton Fernandes, Mourtada Fall, Carlos Pena, Mandar Rao Desai, Lenny Rodrigues, Ahmed Jahouh, Jackichand Singh, Edu Bedia, Brandon Fernandes, Ferran Corominas

Chennaiyin FC– Karanjit Singh (GK), Laldinliana Renthlei, Mailson Alves, Eli Sabia, Tondonba Singh, Christopher Herd, Anirudh Thapa, Raphael Augusto, Issac Vanmalsawma, CK Vineeth, Jeje Lalpekhlua