South African team are set to host Pakistan for another 5 matches ODI series. The opening encounter will witness both the limited over giants clash with each other at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth. The Proteas would be hoping to continue their dominant form just like they did in test series.

The hosts won all the three test matches and whitewashed the Pakistani side in a series which was mostly considered one-sided. They won the opening contest in Centurion by six wickets and followed it with another 9 wicket victory over the visitors. South Africa wrapped up the series by 3-0 with their win in the Johannesburg test by 107 runs.

Dale Steyn and Quinton de Kock have been rested in the ODI series. Aiden Markram and Duanne Olivier are set to feature in this series.

Pakistan needs to rise up to the Proteas challenge and look to turn the tide in their favour. Captain Sarfraz Khan has also been heavily criticized for his captaincy and poor batting form. They have to strengthen their batting line-up in order to stand any chances against the home side. The arrival of Shoaib Malik and Md. Hafeez would be a positive sign for the Pakistani team. Md. Amir and Hasan Ali will spearhead the bowling attack.




Date: Saturday, January 19 2019

Time:  04:30 PM IST

Venue: St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

League: Pakistan tour of South Africa 2018-19

Live Telecast: Sony Network

Online Streaming:


Pitch Conditions


The St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth offers a hard surface which will benefit bowlers with offer good pace and bounce.

Some seam movement can also be seen from the seamers with some assistance from the weather.


Team News


South Africa

  • The hosts have named a 14-member squad for the first two ODIs
  • Dale Steyn and Q De Kock have been given rest for this series
  • Aiden Markram and Duanne Olivier are set to replace them


  • Imam Ul Haq and Fakhar Zaman will open the inning for the team.
  • Shoaib Malik and M Hafeez have joined the squad



Ground Record ODI


Total matches                                  40

Matches won batting first                  20

Matches won bowling first                 19

Average 1st Inns scores                   233

Average 2nd Inns scores                  198

Highest total recorded       335/6 (50 Ov) by PAK vs RSA

Lowest total recorded        112/10 (30.1 Ov) by NZ vs AUS

Highest score chased         330/7 (49.1 Ov) by AUS vs RSA

Lowest score defended       179/7 (50 Ov) by RSA vs WI






Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed(w/c), Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan, Shan Masood, Usman Khan, Hussain Talat, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi

South Africa

Heinrich Klaasen(w), Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis(c), David Miller, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson, Dwaine Pretorius

Probable Playing 11



  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Imam Ul Haq
  3. Babar Azam
  4. Mohammad Hafeez
  5. Shoaib Malik
  6. Sarfaraz Ahmed (c & wk)
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Imad Wasim/Faheem Asraf/H talat
  9. Hasan Ali
  10. Shaheen Afridi
  11. M Amir


South Africa

  1. Hashim Amla
  2. Aiden Markram
  3. Rassie van der Dassen
  4. Faf du Plessis(c)
  5. Heinrich Klaasen(w)
  6. David Miller
  7. Dwaine Pretorius
  8. Andile Phehlukwayo
  9. Kagiso Rabada
  10. Duanne Olivier
  11. Imran Tahir






Fakhar Zaman

Babar Azam

Shoaib Malik


South Africa

Hashim Amla

Aiden Markram

Faf du Plessis(c)



Sarfraz Ahmed

Shoaib Malik

Hashim Amla

Babar Azam

Faf Du Plessis       (C)

Aiden Markram

Andile Phehlukwayo

Imran Tahir

Duanne Olivier

Kagiso Rabada      (VC)

Hasan Ali


Risky 11 

Heinrich Klaasen


Fakhar Zaman

Hashim Amla      C

David Miller

Fakhar Zaman

Faheem Ashraf VC

Imad Wasim

Shadab Khan

Shaheen Afridi

Mohammad Amir