After clinching the series by 2-0, the hosts will be eyeing to clean sweep the Sri Lankan side. South Africa Women team are set to host Sri Lanka women for the final T20I match tomorrow at SuperSport Park, Centurion. The visitors, however, will be eager to get a win against the Proteas as they have played some really competitive cricket in this series.

Sune Luus’s five-wicket haul in the last game sealed the series for the home side in the second match. Dane Van Niekerk (3-12 & 71 not out) made an instant impact in the first T20I to give them the lead. Their bowling attack came to haunt the Lankan players as they were bundled out for 105 runs.  Dane Van Niekerk and Tazmin Brits started the chase well and put up a 35 runs stand for the first wicket. But things went downhill from there as the hosts found themselves languishing at 97-8. South African team held their nerves to take them over the line and seal the series by 2-0.


Ground Stats


Total matches – 8

Matches won batting first – 5

Matches won bowling first – 2

Average 1st Inns scores – 167

Average 2nd Inns scores – 138

Highest total recorded – 241/6 (20 Ov) by RSA vs Eng

Lowest total recorded – 100/10 (12.2 Ov) by RSA vs PAK

Highest score chased – 189/4 (18.4 Ov) by RSA vs IND

Lowest score defended – 126/5 (10 Ov) by RSA vs SL



Team News


  • Proteas seamer Zintle Mali is out of the series following a grade one strain
  • Lizelle Lee is not in the squad after failing to meet the fitness standards
  • Andrie Steyn has been named as Lee’s replacement




South Africa Women Dane van Niekerk (c), Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Mignon du Preez, Faye Tunnicliffe, Shabnim Ismail, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Saarah Smith, Tazmin Brits, Zintle Mali, Lizelle Lee.

Sri Lanka Women Chamari Atapattu (c), Prasadani Weerakkody, Shashikala Siriwardena, Inoka Ranaweera, Tharika Sewwandi, Kavisha Dilhari, Umesha Thimashini, Udeshika Prabodhani, Anushka Sanjeewani, Achini Kulasuriya, Hasini Perera, Harshitha Madavi, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Imalka Mendis, Nilakshi De Silva.


Key Players



Probable Playing XI


South Africa Women

  1. Faye Tunnicliffe
  2. Tazmin Brits
  3. N d Klerk
  4. Lara Goodall
  5. Dane van Niekerk(c)
  6. Marizanne Kapp
  7. Shabnam Ismail
  8. Sune Luus
  9. Sarah Smith
  10. Masabata Klaas
  11. T Sekhukhune


Sri Lanka Women

  1. Anushka Sanjeewani
  2. Nilakshi de Silva
  3. Hasini Perera
  4. Imalka Mendis
  5. Chamari Attapatu (c)
  6. Shashikala Siriwardene
  7. O Ranasinghe
  8. Udeshika Prabodhani
  9. I Ranaweera
  10. Umesha Thimashini
  11. Achini Kulasuriya




Faye Tunnicliffe

Imalka Mendis

Nilakshi de Silva

Nadine de Klerk

Tazmin Brits

Chamari Atapattu

D Van Niekerk   C

Shashikala Siriwardene  VC

Masabata Klass

Inoka Ranaweera

Sunne Luus




A Sanjeewani

Hasini Perera

Nilakshi de Silva

Nadine de Klerk

Lara Goodall

Masabata Kapp            C

Chamari Atapattu       VC

Achini Kulasuriya

Tumi Sekhukhune

Oshadi Ranasinghe

Inoka Ranaweera