South Africa vs Sri Lanka 2019

The Proteas are set to host Sri Lanka in the second Test at the St.George’s Park, Port Elizabeth. The Lankan tigers are on the cusp of making history in the final test. South African team would be hoping to bounce back in style to level the series. This test match is going to be a treat to those who cherish good attacking red-ball cricket.
After being hammered by the Australian outfit in the previous tour, the visitors needed this win more than anything. Kusal Perera’s heroics took his team over the line in the opening test match. He remained unbeaten at 153 runs to hand the Lankans their first victory on South African soil after seven years. He stitched a match-winning partnership of 78 runs along with Vishwa Fernando to post a historic win by one wicket. Sri Lanka would be eyeing to win their first test series in South Africa when they take on the home side in the second test.
On the other hand, South Africa will be under the pump after a while, especially on their home soil. They will be desperate to get a positive result in the final test to draw the series level. The Proteas need to make some changes in the batting lineup to avoid a humiliating series loss in against a weaker side. Faf du Plessis would be hoping to make a strong comeback in this crunch contest.


Head-to-head (last five fixtures)

South Africa – 2, Sri Lanka – 3

Team News


South Africa

  • Wiian Mulder can replace Vernon Philander who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury.
  • Theunis de Bruyn or Zubayr Hamza can feature in this match to strengthen their batting lineup.

Sri Lanka

  • Sri Lanka are expected to field the same line-up unless there is an injury.
  • Kusal Mendis is an early doubt because of an ankle injury during a training session.



Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohamed Shiraz, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya, Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Milinda Siriwardana and Dhananjaya de Silva.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis(c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Duanne Olivier, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Kagiso Rabada.

Probable Playing


South Africa

Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wk), Wiaan Mulder/Theunis de Bruyn, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando



Quinton De Kock

Hashim Amla

Aiden Markram

Dimuth Karunarate

Kusal Perera

Faf du Plessis     C

Dhananjaya De Silva

Vishwa Fernando

Lasith Embuldeniya

Dale Steyn          VC

Kagiso Rabada


Risky 11

Niroshan Dickwella

Dean Elgar

Hashim Amla

Dimuth Karunarate         C

Wiaan Mulder

Vernon Philander

Dhananjaya De Silva

Lasith Embuldeniya

Suranga Lakmal

Kasun Rajitha

Duanne Olivier  VC