Auckland Aces will take on Otago Volts in another exciting fixture of Super Smash 2019. Both the teams will face off each other for the second time in this season. Their last meeting was obstructed by the rain and both the sides had to share a point each at the end of the play. In the first innings, Auckland scored 117-1 in just 11 overs after Otago won the toss and elected to field first.

Auckland Aces won their last game against Wellington by a margin of six wickets. They have only managed to win a single game and lost two out of their five matches. Aces would be hoping to maintain their winning form when they face Volts. They need to win most of their four remaining games if they have to qualify for the next round.

Otago Volts, on the contrary, are comfortably placed at the third spot in the points table with 12 points. They have won two matches while lost two and shared the points on two occasions in their six matches. Volts would target the second spot and look to dethrone Central Districts, who won their last match.

Auckland and Volts must be desperate for a win in this phase of the tournament.





Date: Sunday, January 20, 2019.

Time:  05:00 AM IST

Venue: Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar



Recent Form

Chittagong Vikings – W, W, L, W

Khulna Titans – W, L, L, L, L


Team News


Otago Volts

Volts have released a 12-man squad


Auckland Aces

Auckland Aces have named a 13-man squad with one change

Daniel Bell Drummond feature in the team

James Vince, Colin Munro and Martin Guptill will be missing out from the squad





Jack Hunter, Ben Cox, Josh Tasman-Jones, Jacob Duffy, Ben Raine, Josh Finnie, Hamish Rutherford, Shawn Hicks, Anaru Kitchen, Nathan Smith, Christi Viljoen, Brad Wilson


Craig Cachopa (C), Roneel Hira, Graeme Beghin, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Mark Chapman, Donovan Grobbelaar, Ben Horne (WK), Ben Lister, Mitchell McClenaghan, Robert O’Donnell, Glenn Phillips, Matthew Quinn, Will Somerville


Probable Playing 11


Otago Volts

  1. Ben Cox
  2. Hamish Rutherford
  3. Shawn Hicks
  4. Josh Finnie
  5. Brad Wilson
  6. Anaru Kitchen
  7. Ben Raine
  8. Nathan G Smith
  9. Jacob Duffy (c)
  10. Jack Hunter
  11. C Viljoen



  1. Glenn Phillips
  2. Craig Cachopa (c)
  3. Ben Horne (WK)
  4. Mark Chapman
  5. D Bell Drumond
  6. Donovan Grobbelaar
  7. William Somerville
  8. Mitchell McClenaghan
  9. Ronnie Hira
  10. Matthew Quinn
  11. Robert O’Donnell


SAFE 11  

Glenn Phillips

Hamish Rutherford   (C)

Shawn Hicks

Craig Cachopa

Daniel B Drummond

Anaru Kitchen

Nathan Smith    (VC)

Donovan Grobbelaar

Jacob Duffy

Christi Viljoen

Mitchell McClenaghan


Risky 11

Ben Cox

Mark Chapman

Shawn Hicks

Craig Cachopa

Neil Broom     (C)

Daniel B Dr

Ben Raine     (VC)

Ronny Hira

William Somerville

Ben Lister

Jacob Duffy