Canterbury Kings will take on Auckland Aces at the Hagley Oval for another exciting outing in the Super Smash League. The race to top four has taken a dramatic turn as we are in the second half of the tournament. Both the sides would be hoping to come out on top in this crunch contest.

Auckland Aces are currently at the third spot in the points table with 16 points. They have won three games while lost two so far in this tournament. Auckland won their last match against Otago Volts by 4 runs to stay in the top half of the table.

On the contrary, Canterbury Kings are languishing at the bottom of the table with four points in the league so far. They have only managed to win a solitary match and lost six in the campaign. There only win in the tournament came in Match 9 against Auckland Aces when they defeated the hosts by 5 wickets. They have been on the downfall since then, having lost their last match against Central Districts by 18 runs.




Date: Saturday, January 26, 2019.

Time:  08:30 AM IST

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar



Recent Form


Auckland Aces- W, W, NR, L, L


Canterbury Kings – L, L, L, L, L



Team News


  • Both the sides have released their respective squads
  • Henry Shipley, Steve Murdoch and Will Williams return for tomorrow’s game for Canterbury
  • Tom MacRury is set to make his debut for Canterbury
  • Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls are on national duty so they will miss out.






Auckland squadCraig Cachopa (C), Mark Chapman, Donovan Grobbelaar, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Robert O’Donnell, Glenn Phillips (WK), Matthew Quinn, Will Somerville, Ben Horne, G Beghin


Canterbury squadCole McConchie (c), Chad Bowes, Leo Carter, Andrew Ellis, Cameron Fletcher (wk), Kyle Jamieson, Steve Murdoch, Edward Nuttall, Henry Shipley, Will Williams, Tom Macrury, Todd Astle


Probable Playing 11


Auckland Aces

  1. Craig Cachopa
  2. Daniel Bell-Drummond
  3. Donovan Grobbelaar
  4. Ronnie Hira
  5. Mitchell McClenaghan
  6. Graeme Beghin
  7. Robert ODonnell
  8. Matthew Quinn
  9. Mark Chapman
  10. William Somerville
  11. Glenn Phillips.


Canterbury Kings

  1. Andrew Ellis
  2. Tom MacRury
  3. Chad Bowes
  4. Cam Fletcher
  5. Ed Nuttall
  6. Todd Astle
  7. Matt Henry
  8. Leo Carter
  9. Kyle Jamieson
  10. Henry Shipley
  11. Cole McConchie. (Doubt: Steve Murdoch, Will Williams)








Teams to be updated soon!