Super Smash League has also reached its business end with only a handful of games to go. Canterbury Kings will take on the Otago Volts in what is expected to be a dead rubber match. The result will not make much of a difference in the league standings but both the teams will be charged up.

Otago Volts are placed at the second last spot in the points table with 12 points to their name. They have won a couple of games while losing 4 games in their 8 league games. Volts lost their last match against the Firebirds by 11 runs to end their hope of making it to the playoffs.

While Canterbury Kings are languishing at the bottom of the table with just four points. They could only manage to win a solitary game in their 8 outings. The Kings were thrashed by 9 wickets when they took on Auckland Aces in their last encounter.

Both the sides will face each other for the second time in this season. Canterbury Kings emerged victorious in that previous encounter by 5 wickets, riding on the back of Kyle Jamieson’s dream spell where he picked up 6 wickets for 7 runs.





Date: Saturday, February 02, 2019.

Time:  08:30 AM IST

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar



Team News


  • Volts have named a 12 member squad which includes Michael Rippon who was missing in the last match.


  • Canterbury Kings have also named a 12-man squad which does not feature Tod Astle who is currently on national duty.




Otago Volts squad:

Neil Broom, Ben Cox, Josh Finnie, Jacob Duffy, Anaru Kitchen, Shawn Hicks, Michael Rippon, Nathan Smith, Hamish Rutherford Christi Viljoen, Brad Wilson, Josh Tasman-Jones.

Canterbury Kings squad:

Cole McConchie(c), Chad Bowes, Jeremy Benton, Leo Carter, Andrew Ellis, Kyle Jamieson, Cam Fletcher, Tom Macrury, Steve Murdoch, Ed Nuttall, Will Williams, Henry Shipley


Probable Playing XI


Otago Volts

  1. Josh Finnie
  2. Jacob Duffy
  3. Michael Rippon
  4. Anaru Kitchen
  5. Neil Broom
  6. Ben Cox
  7. Hamish Rutherford
  8. Josh Tasman-Jones
  9. Christi Viljoen
  10. Brad Wilson
  11. Nathan Smith. (Doubt: Shawn Hicks)


Canterbury Kings

  1. Cole McConchier
  2. Cam Fletcher
  3. Ed Nuttall
  4. Chad Bowes
  5. Andrew Ellis
  6. Kyle Jamieson
  7. Steve Murdoch
  8. Jeremy Benton
  9. Leo Carte
  10. Henry Shipley
  11. Will Williams. (Doubt: Tom Macrury)





To be updated soon!



To be updated soon!