Canterbury will host the table toppers Northern Knights in an exciting face-off at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on Wednesday. The Knights are at the top of the ladder with 12 points in their four games. They won their three matches and have lost only one league game until now. Canterbury, on the other hand, are languishing at the bottom with just four points. They could only manage a single win in their three matches.

The Super Smash League is halfway through and Knights will be aiming to maintain their top spot. They will try to perform well against the hosts Canterbury and win the match. Knights have won their last two games on the trot after losing their second league game. Dean Brownlie will lead their side going into this contest against Canterbury.

Canterbury will be hoping to get a win against the favourites Northern Knights in the upcoming match. They had a tough campaign and have really struggled to find their feet since the first defeat against Otago in the opening match. Auckland also defeated them in their last match by 65 runs.



Date: Wednesday, January 09, 2019.

Time:  08:30 AM IST

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Team News


Canterbury Kings

Kings have released a 12-man squad to host Knights

Tom Latham is back in the squad

Northern Districts Knights

Dean Brownlie is likely to go with an unchanged side.



Northern Districts Knights Squad: Dean Brownlie (c), Tim Seifert, Daryl Mitchell, Daniel Flynn, Bharat Popli, Nicholas Frederick Kelly, James Baker, Brent Arnel, Anton Devcich, Zak Gibson, Brett Randell, Joe Walker, Brett Hampton, Scott Kuggeleijn, Chris Jordan

Canterbury Kings Squad: Andrew Ellis (c), Todd Astle, Cam Fletcher, Leo Carter, Ben Stokes, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Johnston, Jeremy Benton, Chad Bowes, Nick Kwant, Michael Pollard, Tom Latham, Ken McClure, Ed Nuttall, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Henry Shipley, Will Williams


Probable Playing 11


Northern Knights

  1. Corey Anderson
  2. Daryl Mitchell
  3. Dean Brownlie (c)
  4. Daniel Flynn
  5. Anton Devcich
  6. PD Bocock
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Brett Hampton
  9. Chris Jordan
  10. Tarun Nethula
  11. Scott Kuggeleijn



  1. Chad Bowes
  2. Stephen Murdoch
  3. Leo Carter
  4. Tom Latham
  5. Cole McConchie (c)
  6. Cam Fletcher
  7. Andrew Ellis
  8. Kyle Jamieson
  9. Ed Nuttall
  10. Jeremy Benton
  11. Henry Shipley