Super Smash has reached halfway down the line and we will witness a meteoric clash between Auckland Aces and Wellington Firebirds at the Basin Reserve. Aces would be hoping to gain some momentum from their last washed out game against Otago. Both the sides would be eyeing a win heading into this contest.

Auckland Aces are going to be ecstatic with the return of Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson and Collin Munro from the national duty. Currently, the Aces are languishing at the second last spot in the points table with eight points in their five matches. They have won a solitary game and lost two, while the other two games were washed out.

Wellington Firebirds are just placed above Auckland Aces with 10 points in their 6 matches. They lost their last game against Northern Knights by 12 runs and would be hoping to bounce back with a win. They have only managed to win two and lost three games out of their six encounters.



Date: Friday, January 18, 2019.

Time:  08:30 AM IST

Venue: Basin Reserve, Wellington

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar

Recent Form


Auckland – NR, L, L, W, NR

Wellington – L, W, W, L, NR



Team News


Wellington Firebirds

Jimmy Neesham is in the squad, though he remains doubtful for the match as he was not picked for the series against India due to injury.





Craig Cachopa, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, D Grobbelaar, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Mitch McClenaghan, Colin Munro, Robbie O Donnell, Glen Phillips, Matt Quinn, Will Somerville


Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell,  Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Adam Hose, Troy Johnson, Ian McPeake, Jimmy Neesham, Ollie Newton, Jeetan Patel, Ben Sears, Logan van Beek, Luke Woodcock



Probable Playing 11



  1. Glenn Phillips
  2. Martin Guptill
  3. Mark Chapman
  4. Craig Cachopa (c)
  5. Robert ODonnell
  6. Colin Munro
  7. Donovan Grobbelaar
  8. Mitchell McClenaghan
  9. Ronnie Hira
  10. Matthew Quinn
  11. William Somerville



  1. Tom Blundell
  2. Devon Conway
  3. Adam Hose
  4. Michael Pollard
  5. Michael Bracewell
  6. Troy Johnson
  7. Jeetan Patel
  8. Hamish Bennett (c)
  9. Ian McPeake
  10. Logan van Beek
  11. Ollie Newton