Wellington Firebirds are set to host the Central Stags at Basin Reserve for another crunch contest in the Super Smash League. We are in the business end of the tournament and all the teams will put their best foot forward to try to qualify for the next round. With only a couple of fixtures to be played, we can anticipate a thrilling finish to the season.

Central Stags have taken up the third spot in the points table with 18 points. They have won four encounters while lost three in their eight outings so far in this campaign. Stags suffered a huge setback in their last match against the Knights. They lost the match by massive 137 runs while chasing 231 runs on the board. Central Districts have to register a win in the remaining games to qualify for the playoffs.

While Wellington Firebirds are sitting on the fourth spot in the points table with 14 points to their name. They have emerged victorious in three games and faced defeat in four matches out of their eight league games. The hosts won their last match against Otago Volts by 11 runs. They scored 221 runs in the first innings and restricted the Volts for 210/8 after their quota of 20 overs.

Both the sides will face each other for the second time in this season. The previous encounter was won by Wellington in style with 8 wickets in hand. Central Stags would be hoping to avenge their last defeat and outplay the hosts.




Date: Friday, February 01, 2019.

Time:  08:30 AM IST

Venue: Basin Reserve, Wellington

League: Super Smash League 2018-19

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar

Team News


  • Wellington Firebirds have named a 12-member squad for this fixture.


  • Central Stags has roped in young wicket-keeper Bayley Wiggins, who is set to make his debut.



Key Players






Central Districts

Tom Bruce (c), Doug Bracewell, Josh Clarkson, Dean Foxcroft, Ajaz Patel, Seth Rance, Bevan Small, Blair Tickner, Ben Wheeler, George Worker, Bayley Wiggins (w), Will Young


Wellington squad

Hamish Bennett (c), Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Troy Johnson, Ollie Newton, Tom Blundell, Malcolm Nofal, Rachin Ravindra, Jeetan Patel, Logan van Beek, Ben Sears, Luke Woodcock



Probable Playing 11


Central Districts

  1. Tom Bruce (c)
  2. Doug Bracewell
  3. Josh Clarkson
  4. Dean Foxcroft
  5. Seth Rance
  6. Bevan Small
  7. Bayley Wiggins (w)
  8. Blair Tickner
  9. Ben Wheeler
  10. George Worker
  11. Will Young



  1. Jeetan Patel
  2. Hamish Bennett
  3. Devon Conway
  4. Luke Woodcock
  5. Troy Johnson
  6. Ben Sears
  7. Ollie Newton
  8. Michael Bracewell
  9. Tom Blundell
  10. Malcolm Nofal
  11. Rachin Ravindra






Teams to be updated soon!