New Zealand and Sri Lanka will begin their World Cup campaign tomorrow at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff in the third fixture of the 2019 ICC World Cup. New Zealand will be looking to get back to winning ways after being hammered by the West Indian side in their last warm-up game. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka must be determined for clinical performance in their opening match. Both the teams would be eyeing to open their World Cup account with a victory.

New Zealand has been in decent form in the limited overs cricket over the past few years. Last World Cup’s runners-up Blackcaps have a robust squad with matchwinners like Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult in their ranks. Having been battered in their previous game against Windies, New Zealand would be for a better bowling performance from an experienced bowling attack.

On the contrary, Sri Lanka looks the most unfledged side in this edition of the World Cup. Since the departure of veterans like Sangakkara and Jayawardene, one-time champion Sri Lanka has never looked the same outfit. Their recent performances demonstrate their tendency to succumb under pressure. Players like Kusal Mendis, Angelo Matthews, and Lasith Malinga have to step-up if they want to defeat the Kiwis. With Karunarathane at the helm, the Islanders will aim to march back to glory days.


Match Details


Date: Saturday, 1st June 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 227

Avg 2nd Innings score: 216

Highest Total: 342/8 (50 Ov) by Eng vs AUS

Lowest Total: 138/10 (37.5 Ov) by SL vs NZ

Highest Chased: 304/6 (48.2 Ov) by PAK vs Eng

Lowest Defended: 169/10 (23.3 Ov) by Eng vs NZ


Team News


New Zealand

  • Martin Guptill and Colin Munro will open the innings for the Blackcaps.
  • Tom Blundell, the uncapped wicketkeeper, will make his International debut in the upcoming match.
  • Lockie Ferguson can miss out to make way for experienced Tim Southee.

Sri Lanka

  • Karunaratane and Kusal Mendis will be pivotal for the Sri Lankan team.
  • While Malinga will lead the bowling attack with Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.




New Zealand

Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana.


Key players


New Zealand

  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor
  • Trent Boult

Sri Lanka

  • Kusal Perera
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Lasith Malinga


Probable Playing XI

New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(C), Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner,  Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Trent Boult

Sri Lanka

Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratane, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimane, Dhananjay de Silva, Angelo Matthews, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal and Lasith Malinga