Bangladesh and New Zealand are set to battle it out in the ninth fixture of the 2019 ICC World Cup. Bangladesh must be beaming with confidence after beating South Africa in their opening match while the Blackcaps, too registered a comprehensive 10-wicket victory over the Sri Lankan team. Both the sides will be hoping to maintain their winning run in the upcoming match at Kennington Oval, London.

Often regarded as the underdogs, Bangladesh scripted a memorable victory against South Africa in their World Cup opener. Shakib Al Hasan(75) and Mushfiqur Rahman(78) performed well under pressure before Mahmudullah stormed Bangladesh to 330 with his 33-ball 46. Mutafizur and Saifuddin led the pace attack, picking up five crucial wickets in the middle overs to emerge victorious by 21 runs. Mashrafe Mortaza led his team well and made some bold moves to keep the Proteas at bay. Bangladesh would be hoping for the same kind of dominant performance against the Kiwis tomorrow at the Oval.

New Zealand has been one of the most consistent teams in limited-overs cricket over the past few years. With match winners like Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult in their ranks, the Blackcaps have played some scintillating cricket since arriving in England. After the two warm-up matches, New Zealand squared off with Sri Lanka in their opening match. Kane & Co put up a bowling masterclass in the first innings to thrash the Sri Lankan side by ten wickets. New Zealand would be eyeing to register another win when they take on the Bangladesh Tigers.


Match Details


Date: Wednesday, 5th June 2019

Time: 06:00 PM IST

Venue: Kennington Oval, London

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 249

Avg 2nd Innings score: 215

Highest Total: 398/5 (50 Ov) by NZ vs ENG

Lowest Total: 103/10 (41 Ov) by ENG vs RSA

Highest Chased: 322/3 (48.4 Ov) by SL vs IND

Lowest Defended: 241/10 (49.4 Ov) by PAK vs ENG



Team News

New Zealand

  • Ish Sodhi can replace Jimmy Neesham in the starting lineup.


  • Bangladesh is expected to field the same playing XI from their previous game.




New Zealand

Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor


Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Abu Jayed, Liton Das (wk), Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun (wk), Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal


Key Players


New Zealand

  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor
  • Trent Boult


  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Shakib al Hasan
  • Mustafizur Rahman


Probable Playing XI


New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(C), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner,  Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, and Trent Boult


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib-al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(WK), Md. Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman /Mosaddek, Masrfe Mortaza(C), Mehidy Hasan, Saifuddin/Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman