In the 24th fixture of the 2019 ICC World Cup, England will host Afghanistan at the Old Trafford for another intriguing encounter. The World no. 1 ODI side, England has been in terrific form in this World Cup while Afghanistan remains winless in this tournament after four games. Morgan’s troops will look to maintain their winning run against a potentially weaker opponent. An enthralling contest is on the cards when the tournament favorites take on the Underdogs at Manchester.


Match Details


Date: Tuesday, 18th June 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 217

Avg 2nd Innings score: 192

Highest Total: 336/5 (50 Ov) by IND vs PAK

Lowest Total: 45/10 (40.3 Ov) by Can vs ENG

Highest Chased: 286/4 (53.4 Ov) by ENG vs NZ

Lowest Defended: 221/8 (60 Ov) by ENG vs NZ


Team News



  • Mooen Ali is expected to make a comeback in the starting lineup.
  • Mark Wood or Liam Plunkett can make way for him.


  • Dawalt Zardan can make a comeback in the starting lineup.
  • Mujeeb ur Rahman might also return to feature in the playing XI.




Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood


Gulbadin Naib (C), Hamid Hassan, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Noor Ali Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Shahzad, Aftab Alam, Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Key Players



  • Jason Roy
  • Jos Butler
  • Jofra Archer


  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Md. Nabi
  • Rashid Khan


Probable Playing XI



Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (C), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (WK), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood/Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid


Ikram Ali Khil, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Ashgar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Gulbadin Naib, Md. Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur  Rahman, Aftab Alam and Dawlat Zadran