After hammering their arch-rivals at Old Trafford, Team India is set to collide with the Afghanistan team at the Rose Bowl. With another win, the Indian Team would be eyeing to seal the top spot in the points table while Afghanistan still remains winless in this tournament on the back of some sloppy performances. Shikhar Dhawan, who has been ruled out of the World Cup following his thumb fracture, will be replaced by Rishabh Pant in the Indian squad. If Vijay Shankar will not be fit to feature in this starting lineup then we can see Pant batting in the middle order. Another high-voltage drama is on the cards when both these Asian rivals will battle it out at Southampton.

Match Details


Date: Saturday, 22nd June 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 249

Avg 2nd Innings score: 214

Highest Total: 373/3 (50 Ov) by ENG vs PAK

Lowest Total: 65/10 (24 Ov) by USA vs AUS

Highest Chased: 306/7 (49 Ov) by NZ vs ENG

Lowest Defended: 251/7 (50 Ov) by ENG vs SL


Head-to-head Record

Total: 2

India: 1

Afghanistan: 0

Tie: 1

Team News



  • Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the tournament following his thumb injury.
  • Rishabh Pant has been named the replacement for the Southpaw.
  • Md. Shami might also feature in this fixture in place of Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.


  • Hazratullah Zazai can make a comeback at top of the order for Afghanistan.






Virat Kohli (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav


Gulbadin Naib (C), Hamid Hassan, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Noor Ali Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Shahzad, Aftab Alam, Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Key Players 


  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah 


  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Md. Nabi
  • Rashid Khan


Probable Playing XI



Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant/Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar/ Md. Shami, Jasprit Bumrah


Ikram Ali Khil, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Ashgar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Gulbadin Naib, Md. Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur  Rahman, Aftab Alam and Dawlat Zadran