After more than five weeks of enthralling and exhilarating cricketing action, here we are with four deserving semi-finalists. First-placed India and fourth-placed New Zealand are set to lock horns in the first semi-final at the Old Trafford tomorrow.

Team India finished top of the ladder with a thumping win over Sri Lanka in their final league stage fixture while the Blackcaps have lost last three games on the trot. Kolhi’s regime has been tremendous form in this World Cup since their opening game against South Africa. With two more such dominating performances, the Indian Team can go all the way to lift their third World title.

Meanwhile, New Zealand, who have been struggling to find their feet recently, would be hoping to bounce back in this tournament with a victory against India. Kane & Co have an uphill task when they take on the in-form Indian team at Manchester. The Kiwi’s big guns Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, and Trent Boult have to fire tomorrow if they want to feature in the second successive World Cup final.


Match Details


Date: Tuesday, 8th July 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 225

Avg 2nd Innings score: 197

Highest Total: 397/6 (50 Ov) by ENG vs AFG

Lowest Total: 45/10 (40.3 Ov) by Can vs ENG

Highest Chased: 286/4 (53.4 Ov) by ENG vs NZ

Lowest Defended: 221/8 (60 Ov) by ENG vs NZ



Head-to-Head Record


Total: 106

India: 55

New Zealand: 45

Tied: 01

N/R: 05


Head-to-Head at WC

Total: 08

India: 03

New Zealand: 04

N/R: 01


Team News



  • Kedar Jadhav might feature in this semi-final in place of Dinesh Karthik as provides an extra bowling option.
  • Ravindra Jadeja will keep his place ahead of Kuldeep Yadav or Yuzvendra Chahal.
  • While Md. Shami will replace Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the starting lineup if India goes ahead with two pacers.

New Zealand


  • Tom Blundell might make his World Cup debut against Pakistan, replacing Tom Latham to provide some firepower in the middle order.
  • Lockie Ferguson will make his comeback after missing the last game due to an injury.






Virat Kohli (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor


Key Players



  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand

  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor
  • Trent Boult


Probable Playing XI



Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Md. Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro/Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson