The South African team brace themselves to square off with New Zealand at a new World Cup venue, Edgbaston. Having won their first match against Afghanistan, the Proteas will look to carry on their winning momentum while the Blackcaps would be eyeing to maintain their unbeaten run in this World Cup. Faf du Plessis must be determined to win all the remaining fixtures if South Africa has to qualify for the semi-finals. New Zealand looks a more balanced and dynamic side who have been consistently performing well since arriving in England. Another high-voltage drama is on the cards when both these giants will battle it out at Birmingham.


Match Details


Date: Wednesday, 19th June 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 227

Avg 2nd Innings score: 179

Highest Total: 408/9 (50 Ov) by ENG vs NZ

Lowest Total: 70/10 (25.2 Ov) by AUS vs ENG

Highest Chased: 280/4 (53.3 Ov) by AUS vs ENG

Lowest Defended: 129/7 (20 Ov) by IND vs ENG


Team News


New Zealand

  • The Blackcaps are expected to go ahead with an unchanged lineup.

South Africa

  • Lungi Ngidi might feature in the starting lineup after recovering from his injury.
  • While Beuran Hendricks is set to make way for him.




New Zealand

Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

South Africa

Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (WK), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir


Key Players


New Zealand

  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor
  • Trent Boult

South Africa

  • Quinton de Kock
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Kagiso Rabada

Probable Playing XI


New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro/Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson

South Africa

Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis (c), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Beuran Hendricks, Kagiso Rabada, Andile Phehlukwayo, , Imran Tahir