The West Indies and South Africa are set to square off at the Rose Bowl in the 15th fixture of the 2019 ICC World Cup. South Africa must be desperate to open their account in this tournament while the Windies will be looking to bag another two crucial points having been miss out in their previous encounter against Australia. A high-voltage is anticipated when these two giants will battle it out in Southampton today.

Match Details


Date: Monday, 10th June 2019

Time: 03:00 PM IST

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

League: ICC World Cup 2019

Live Telecast: Star Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar


Venue Stats


Avg 1st Innings score: 260

Avg 2nd Innings score: 214

Highest Total: 373/3 (50 Ov) by ENG vs PAK

Lowest Total: 65/10 (24 Ov) by USA vs AUS

Highest Chased: 306/7 (49 Ov) by NZ vs ENG

Lowest Defended: 251/7 (50 Ov) by ENG vs SL

Head-to-Head at WC

Total: 06

South Africa: 04

West Indies: 02


Team News


South Africa

  • Beuran Hendricks can make his World Cup debut in this fixture.
  • Aiden Markram might bat at top of the order to tackle the short bowling.

West Indies

  • Darren Bravo might feature in the starting lineup to provide stability in the middle order.
  • Evin Lewis can make for the Trinidadian while Shai Hope will open the batting.



South Africa

Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (WK), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir

West Indies

Jason Holder (capt), Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wk), Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas.



Key Players


South Africa

  • Quinton de Kock
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Kagiso Rabada

West Indies

  • Chris Gayle
  • Shai Hope
  • Jason Holder 


Probable Playing XI


South Africa

Hashim Amla/Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis (c), Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi/Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir

West Indies

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wk), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder (c), Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cotrell, Oshane Thomas